Raising the Curiosity Quotient

bookwormAs we turn the page of the calendar to August, again all thoughts turn to school supplies—or so the ads on television make us want to believe. I swear you don’t even need a calendar any more because you can gauge the time of the year by what ads you endure on the “tube.”

I find it ironic these ads appear when my writing class is winding down. We have this upcoming week of classes and then a final the next week. On the 19th of August, my students will know if the work they did with me is worthy of passing onto the next class or whether they will have to repeat the course with a different instructor.

In three more weeks, the Fall semester will begin. I’m assigned to teach the same prep writing class, but at a campus ten minutes from my home, which will make any impending winter weather no threat. The educational cycle will repeat. Some students will excel, others will not. Some students will be inspired; others will sit like lumps waiting for me to pour the necessary information into their heads with little effort on their part. And like my class now, some will pass and others will not. And so it goes.

After teaching for two years, I have learned a lot. One thing is the curiosity level of most student is almost non-existent. If I can influence one thing in their lives, this would be it. I’d like to get them to wonder about the world around them and ask why are things the way they are, and what can they do to change them.  Most young people I’ve met seem to have no zest to learn or to ask questions about matters that affect them. Has their world made them so apathetic and discouraged at such a young age?

So as this semester ends and the next begins, I will spend the following sixteen weeks to try to turn on some little part of my students to show them learning is fun. I will try to open their eyes to see education is the key to unlock the doors of the future.  It’s a tough job, but I’m up for the task. My hope is at least one young mind will be switched on to have the curiosity toask “why,”  the persistence to get an answer, and the courage to fix what is broken,

5 thoughts on “Raising the Curiosity Quotient

  1. “Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.” – William Butler
    I believe that curiosity is an essential component of that fire. The best of the many good teachers I have been privileged to l have all excelled at rousing and encouraging that fire in their students. But then, I have always loved to learn….

    • Love your quote, and agree. I still have a zest for learning. I don’t think that part of me will ever die. It’s nice to meet a kindred spirit.

      ________________________________

      • Yes! I am currently in college, and one of my professors calls me a ‘hungry student’, meaning that I am always curious and eager to learn. I hope that hunger never ends (and have no reason to think it will!). Cheers for other kindred spirits.

Leave a Reply

