The Writing Drought

After I finish a novel, (I’m using the term “finish” very loosely.) I have a writing drought. I fall into the bad habit of thinking about what to write next and then do nothing about it. Before I know it, the idea has vanished, and I’m drier than before I had the thought.

When times like this occur, I turn to something else creative. This weekend I dragged out my jewelry making supplies and put together a few more necklaces and matching earrings for a show on Sunday afternoon with a few friends. Sometimes stringing beads in lively combinations loosens the cobwebs for more serious tasks–like writing, but unfortunately, no inspiration cometh.

April 14 003

Then it’s time to try my other passion, painting. I do so love smearing pigment on a canvas, even though I have no clue technically what I’m doing. My dear friend Marie who is a very accomplished watercolor painter, has told me, “Now that you’ve had a great deal of  fun, don’t you think it’s time to start learning what you’re doing wrong?”

April 14 004

My answer was “no.” Not yet. I enjoy doing what I’m doing. When I learn what goes into a good painting, I will look for that purpose instead of just creating. When I started taking singing lessons to polish the edges off my voice, I never heard a soloist the same any longer, and I must say, I even lost a bit of joy in my own performances. Besides, I have no allusions about selling my paintings. I fill up the basement with canvas’ that are not so okay and many of the others cover the walls in my home. (even the bathroom).

April 14 005

My worst fault is being prolific. No matter what I chose to do, I do a lot of it. Being prolific is a blessing and a curse. It’s a double-edged sword. It’s also satisfaction.

So far, my tactics to inspire myself have failed; the writing drought still exists. The kernel of the next novel is planted, but so far, no germination. I am struggling with where to start. I’ve even tried writing pieces that aren’t the beginning to save for later. This sucks.

I guess I’ll have to haul out the writer’s block bible — of which I have a few — and see if there are any more clever ideas to climb out of the trenches into the writing no man’s land.

If you have ideas for me, jot me a line. After all, with over 1300 followers, I’m sure each of you has a strategy for times like this. No?

7 thoughts on “The Writing Drought

    • Thanks, Dan. I know there is no one thing that will spark an idea. I’m thinking about a change of scenery for a weekend next month, so we’ll see if that helps fuel the fire.

  1. No, I don’t have any good ideas for you because I am a Writer “wannabe” who has begun several pieces but never gotten very far. I have even contemplated taking a Writer’s course for several hundreds of dollars, but have never had the courage to sign on the dotted line and finally say, “yes, I’m gonna do this!”

    My youngest daughter makes jewelry. Her sister and I celebrated Mother’s Day weekend one year, just sitting at her dining room table making jewelry. It was a lot of fun! I am an avid scrapbooker, quilter and genealogist. I also love to read. My hobbies do give me great time to think, pray and contemplate goals and objectives.

    Good luck to you on your next project. I am a new follower so maybe I’ve missed it. What do you write?

    • Thanks so much for your comment, “bittygirl”. Don’t give up on the writing. Perhaps it would be helpful for you to gather like-minded writers and critique each other’s work. I started with a group like that, but have been on my own since my husband got sick. I’ve actually got another historical novel “completed” (it needs an editor and then a proofreader) before I will submit it to a publisher.
      My novels focus on women in different roles during World War II. I find the time period fascinating.

  2. You are doing all the right things Barb. I’m sure a change of scenery will help too. I love your jewelry. It’s quite stylish and I also admire your painting ability. You really undervalue your talents. One day you’ll be able to get to a street fair and sell some of those pieces. The inspiration will come in it’s right time. I know how hard it is to be patient.

Leave a Reply

