Everyday Heroes

heroesOne of my favorite times of the day is in the morning as I wake up. I’m somewhere between drowsy and coherency. I drift along paying no attention to anything in particular. The quiet of the morning lays on me like a warm blanet as I prepare to leave the land of limbo knowing in a few minutes I’ll stir and join the land of the active living.

In my waking period this morning, I heard a comment on the television that resonated with me. The speaker said, “Real heroes are those people who go about their normal day and rise to the occasion when they need to.” In my half awake state, I agreed. There are heroes all around us who we rarely recognize.

Instead we hear about soldiers, police, and firemen who protect us from ourselves. Thank God we have people like them who are willing to do these kinds of jobs, but do they do them to serve the community or do they do them for the adrenalin rush they feel every time a call comes in and they spring into action? My Dad was a volunteer fireman for over forty years, and my ex-husband did this work for over twenty, so I recognize the look in their eyes when they are called into action. Like I said, I’m glad they did what they did, but are they heroes in the true sense of the word?

Or are heroes those who live good lives with love in their hearts for everyone who crosses their paths. Are heroes the volunteers who teach our children the joys of outdoors through scouting and 4H Clubs? Are heroes people who check on their elderly neighbors, helping where they can without being asked? Are heroes people who give rides to people who can’t drive or aren’t lucky enough to have a car? Are heroes the nurses who are dead on their feet and still find time to give you a genuine smile?

You’ll never hear about people like this on the six o’clock news because for some reason the people who own the networks seem to think inspiring a culture rooted in fear sells more advertising. The stories of everyday heroes are just not exciting enough.

Personally, a hero for me is one who opens a door for my husband as he rolls through in his motorized wheel chair. A hero for me is a person who wears a smile and has a kind word for others even when they carry pain with them everyday. A hero for me is someone who turns a personal tragedy into a positive outcome for someone else.

We are all connected, people. We need to appreciate the heroes in our lives who don’t wear medals or are awarded plaques. Medals tarnish. Plaques are thrown in the attic into a long-forgotten box. But a smile or a kind gesture will live on–sometimes forever.

7 thoughts on “Everyday Heroes

    • Thank you. I had never heard the term Shambhala, but I being the inquisitive person I profess to be, I looked it up. For everybody else who hasn’t heard this term, here is a simplified explanation:  ”The belief there is a natural source of radiance and brilliance in the world, which is the innate wakefulness of human beings. This is the basis, in myth and inspiration, of the Kingdom of Shambhala, an enlightened society of fearlessness, dignity and compassion.” 

      ________________________________

    • I know — but I hate to correct people when I realize it was just a typo. I have problems with typos, too, as you’ve probably realized if you’ve been following me for any length of time. 

      ________________________________

  1. There are so many “unsung heroes”, Barb. The problem is with the media – they believe stories like this are not newsworthy. There’s too much disaster and horror to keep people glued to the screen (and this is why I don’t watch TV). Doctors and nurses and those who smile at us in the street or open doors for wheelchairs are the ones who should be talked about – certainly not celebrities and killers 😦

  2. Now that Ken and I are home bound for the most part, television is a source of our entertainment. (Along with books, computers, and board games.) It is so curious why people are so drawn to the horrible things in life and can’t rejoice over the beauty. Why is it the bad boys get the attention? I’ve always wondered that. Any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

