The Day the Lights Went Out

unhappy faceMother Nature has provided a “January thaw” today. The day I’ve been waiting for since the beginning of December. Temps near forty. No rain. No snow. A perfect day to dismantle the outdoor lights and put away the Christmas decorations. So why am I feeling so down?

My melancholy mood is due to the fact that I know this “warm” day is a fluke. Soon the winds will howl again, and the white snow and slush will cover the landscape like it did before the thaw. I’ve lived here all of my life. I know winter is far from over.

If you’ve followed me for awhile, you know I love outdoor lights. I think my fascination with them is because winters in the North are so darn dark and long. The lights take my mind off of wishing I had been born a bear so I could sleep through the whole season.

I’ve gotten to the age where playing in the snow is not an option. Nowadays I’m more afraid of falling and breaking something to venture out into the fluffy stuff. I’ve never been a skier. I gave up tobogganing years ago after I broke my tibia in an accident when I was fourteen. Long story short, winter’s fun alludes me.

After the holiday decorations come down, my world is barren. There’s little fun to anticipate. Everything ends by the end of January. Holiday celebrations are replaced with mundane routines. Decorations are packed away. The exorbitant electric bill from December comes. Football is over. Days still end at five in the afternoon. Temperatures are still frigid, and we have three more months to go before things will drastically change for the better. I just want to sit and veg.

I think that’s why we’ve invented short holidays like Valentine’s Day and St. Patty’s Day to break the winter monotony. Maybe that’s why the Super Bowl has been pushed into February, too. We must do something to keep the parties coming. We must gather with friends to console each other that in spite of bulky coats and heavy boots, spring will emerge, and we will once again enjoy the sun. Yeah. Right. It will only take ninety plus days to get that done.

If you’re having the Wintertime Blues like me, you have my sympathy. The only medicine I’ve found to combat the funk (besides sleeping in)  is to call a friend and commiserate over  a hot cup of coffee. Believe me, it helps.

4 thoughts on “The Day the Lights Went Out

  1. Your gift of warmth must have arrived this morning. Sun is shining, wind has diminished, and temps in the 20’s (Fahrenheit, though). Now if it was Celsius, we’d have something!

  2. Sorry to hear you are suffering from SAD Barb. My son gave me a box light to help. But you at least have friends to call. I can go weeks without another human to speak to other than my son calling to check on me daily. Haven’t made friends here yet though I keep trying. I’m with you in that I hate taking down the festive lights. I would keep them up all year. Might get some strings of white lights and put them up. Winter is not my favorite but I make a couple trips to the mall if I can get out to walk where it’s safe and see humans. We get very little sun here in Portland in the winter months. I found myself a therapist for the winter to have someone to talk to every other week. It helps. Hang in there.
    Hugs,
    MH

    • We will have to keep  each other bouyed up until spring. There is hope, though, It’s staying lighter longer.

      Sent via the Samsung Galaxy S® III mini, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

Leave a Reply

