An Impending Interview

interview_in_progressI had a big surprise this morning. Greg Berg from the local public radio station called and requested an interview to talk about my novels! I’m always excited to talk about my writing, but to have a public forum like this is very special. Right now I’m basking in the afterglow and saying my thanks to the writing gods.

We’ll record the interview over the phone next Monday morning. The radio program is on the air early in the morning–I think he said his show is aired from eight to nine o’clock in the morning. He asked me whether I had anything going at that time, and I replied, “Other than sleeping, not a thing.” That got a laugh. Little did he know I was telling the truth. This retirement gig has its perks.

So, next Monday I will be talking about all my “girls” and their men who go through World War II like no other generation. As I continue to research and write about this time period, I am always awed by the way a divided America came together overnight after the Japanese attack. People assumed roles they never would have in any other circumstances as they all faced an uncertain future.

We also talked about the fact I teach at the college where the program is broadcast. I made the comment teaching basic writing and grammar has made me a better writer because I’m conscious of the building blocks of our language.

Perhaps this interview will also spur me on to get back to writing my latest project about. Lately I’ve lost my drive to write everyday and crank out at least a chapter a day. The carpal tunnel really derailed my efforts, but then the malady became an excuse. And the excuse became a bad habit.

After the Thanksgiving festivities, and as I stay out of the craziness on Black Friday, I will once again get back to work. Now that my intention is in writing, I WILL get back on the writing track. Carpal tunnel be damned!

6 thoughts on “An Impending Interview

  1. Good for you all around! The interview, the return to writing and the newfound (or re-established) sense or urgency are all great things. I hope they all lead to even better things.

    • Jane — You made me think. We are taping this interview, so perhaps I could get a copy and put it on my website. I’ll have to ask Gary Berg about that when he calls next Monday.

      Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

      Love, Barb

      ________________________________

    • Hugs right back to you. I feel like things have turned around for us already. . . perhaps a big book deal hasn’t come my way yet, but we have been able to replace a sofa and chair and I will hit the Black Friday sales for a new washer and dryer. In December we have arranged for a contractor to bring our laundry chores upstairs! Life is good!

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

