A Fall Into Darkness

Autumn by the pond 001Have you noticed how short the days are becoming? Enter soon the dark, dark, dreary month of November–probably my most hated month of the year. I remember one November in 1991 when there was only eleven hours of sunlight! As a sun sign, I was never so depressed.

The only saving grace of November is we have Thanksgiving, which is a unique holiday to America. It’s a time when most families gather together, stuff themselves with great turkey and trimmings, then remember how lucky they are to have each other. Since 1992, this holiday was dashed for me because when I got divorced after 22 years of marriage, my ex and I had to pick the  holidays when we would have our children. He got Thanksgiving, so ever since I’ve been a Thanksgiving orphan.

I miss not having Thanksgiving with my daughters because they still go to their father’s place on turkey day, but I’ve had twenty years to get used to it. I always looked forward to my orphan status because every Thanksgiving dinner was different, and I didn’t have to put up with a sister who has issues with me or nieces and nephews who never learned social graces.

Every year I always had a place to go because of my strong network of friends who included me with their families. When I met Ken, I finally had a family again. The way they accepted me and included me was a gift, and I was never an orphan again.

So as November approaches, and the time change plunges us into darkness, remember there is a wonderful holiday coming up at the end of the month to remind us just how lucky we are. And then, the next day the craziness of “Black Friday” and “Cyber Saturday” begins — if you’re into that nonsense to take you into frantic December.

One thought on “A Fall Into Darkness

  1. The darkness is the only part I don’t like about winter. It’s hard when you are solar powered. My son gave me one of those lights for my birthday to help with that. I love the cold and the rain. Make me want to cozy up. I miss the family Thanksgivings too. My daughter and I went out to a buffet last year. Wasn’t all that grand. Who knows this year. Always something new to experience.

Leave a Reply

