Falling Down & Too Weak To Get Up

I’ve been absent for the past week because I’ve just been under the weather.  I’ve struggled to write anything, and I didn’t want to bore you with something as mundane as my funk. You see, I’ve had some weird things happen to me lately, and because I haven’t got medical insurance, I haven’t been able to see a doc to check it out and take steps to get better. How crazy is that?

When I lost my job in 2009, there were no jobs out there. People in my field of marketing communications were being cut, so needless to say, a woman in her fifties was not being sought after. Added to that, Ken’s MS had reached a point where he really shouldn’t be home alone all day any more. Not only was he not able to escape the four walls because he couldn’t drive, he had gotten to the point where he fell often. So, with few other options, I stayed home to share his company and take care of the things he couldn’t. It wasn’t until just recently I was paid for my efforts to provide the care he needs.

Because of our life path, we’ve gone through financial disaster without bankruptcy because I wanted to keep the option open if I should suffer some kind of medical meltdown in the future. This approach has worked for four years, but now it seems I’ve run out of luck. I need to see a doctor because for some reason my arms are killing me and my hands fall asleep.

I called the clinic this morning only to learn that it may take five to seven days to get looked at.

Perhaps if I could get through the “Marketplace” connected to the Healthcare Act, I might have a chance to get medical attention when I really need it in the future, but for right now, I’m not sure of how to get this fixed.

Anybody who thinks this country’s medical system isn’t broken doesn’t have to look too far from home. I’m sure many of you know someone who has fallen into this pit, and the fat cats in Washington, who are sitting on their hands and trying to prevent a healthcare change make me so angry. I don’t think anyone should have to claim bankruptcy because they got sick. And I don’t think that I should have to wait to get so sick I need to be treated at the Emergency Room if things get scary.

So, if I don’t write for the next few days, forgive me. My hands are too painful to tinkle the keyboard. But know this, I miss your likes and comments and promise I will bring you something more interesting than my medical maladies in the future.

11 thoughts on “Falling Down & Too Weak To Get Up

  1. I’m so sorry to hear that you’re not doing well. How can I help? It’s been a while since I’ve seen/talked w/ you. Not sure if you remember me but you were my instructor at Gateway. I’d be glad to help in any way that I can. Kim Henry

  2. Barb, hope you are doing better soon! I understand completely having just this weekend gone through an excema-extreme-flare-up and needing medical help as “self-pay” AKA uninsured. Fortuantely, my doctor is a good man. My thoughts and prayers are with you and Ken. ~ Mary

    • Whoever said these retirement years are “golden” must have not experienced them, huh? Sorry to hear that you’ve been under the weather, too.

      ________________________________

  3. I hope you feel better soon and I hope that you can acquire affordable healthcare before having to consider bankruptcy – that should not have to ever be an option. We will keep you in our thoughts and prayers.
    D

  4. Oh Barb, Needing a doctor and not being able to go is so difficult. I just got medicare after 3 years so I almost understand. At least I’ve been reasonably well. Stress exacerbates problems going on in the body. You’ve had more than your share. I’ll keep you in my prayers too.

  5. Sorry to hear you’re under the weather. I know it’s not much, but when my hands fall asleep it’s because of the carpal tunnel, try wrapping your hands with ace bandages a night and see if that helps the tingle sensation. I hope you get better soon. Your blog family is behind you. Hey, if all else fails, we could write a blog for you! 🙂

    • So sweet. I made a doc’s appt. this morning for Monday and will talk to the financial people tomorrow. Hopefully, this is something as simple as carpal tunnel. They can fix that. Thanks for sticking with me.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

