Fall In

fall-decorations-lara-taylorHappy first day of autumn for all of you in the northern hemisphere. This is my favorite time of year, and I’m not alone. A survey taken by CBS revealed Fall for 37% of you is your favorite time of the year with Spring coming in at a close 35%. There must be something said for these transition seasons of the year, huh?

I think people enjoy this season the most because it’s about as close to perfect as weather can be. Temperatures climb into the low 70s during the day, and cool nights keep us comfortable when we sleep. Best of all nature provides a beautiful show of color that can’t be duplicated. Ken and I always take at least a half dozen car rides to just look at the fall colors in the woods.

Even food becomes comforting. Think about all the sweet, spicy pumpkin stuff that comes out  like pumpkin bread, muffins, cheesecake, milkshakes and ice cream. Did I mention pies? Yeah, this time of year, we all pretty much OD on the orange gourd.

I love a good football game played under the lights with a harvest moon low in the sky. I’m comfortable in a sweater or sweatshirt outdoors, or I can curl up with a blanket in front of the television in the evening. I love it when my dog Ernie snuggles up close to me with his warm little self. During the dog days (pardon the pun) of summer, the last thing I want is a hot dog resting on my lap.

Fall also brings Halloween with scarecrows, cute little witches and other goblins ringing my doorbell on October 31. I used to love making my kid’s costumes for their trick or treating activities. For fifteen years, Ken and I hosted a pumpkin carving party for all of our friends. Sadly, this year, though, I don’t think we’ll be throwing a party. One member is too sick to come, another is moving to Florida, Ken’s parents don’t like to drive the 90+ miles from Chicago any more, and Ken hasn’t been able to wield a knife for quite a while because of a nasty tremor in his right arm.  But I’ll drag out some of the lighted Halloween decorations and scatter other Fall decorations around the house and if I’m feeling real ambitious I might even string some lights outside. Halloween lights are as fun as Christmas lights in this area.

And with a little bit of luck, maybe some friends might join us for some spiked apple cider and a piece of pumpkin something as we watch Hokiss Pokiss for the umpteenth time.

2 thoughts on “Fall In

Leave a Reply

