A Red Letter Day

redletterdayYesterday was a what my mother would have called a “Red Letter Day.” How that expression ever meant something good happened is beyond me. Perhaps I’ll add it to my list of “Inquiring Minds Want to Know” for my students. But, I digress.

A couple of major events went right yesterday, and I want to share them with you. Sharing good news with others always makes it better, don’t you agree?

First, I had $700 land in my lap straight from heaven. Yup. I kid you not. Here’s the story. When I bought the wheelchair van a couple of weeks ago, I was so thrilled a dealership would help me. During the past three years, I’ve watched my 800 credit score take a nose dive into to 500’s because of unemployment and illness. But there I go again, getting off the track. Do you think old age is setting in?

The manager who did the assessment of my Outlander said the dealership would give me $6700 for my trade-in. (This was $2000 more than a previous assessment of our car at a different dealership.) On top of that, Palmen was able to get me financing at 11.9%. I was so thrilled I could make this deal, I signed the financial papers before they could change their minds!

A couple of days later, I studied the papers I had signed with unemotional eyes and found a mistake; they only gave me $6000 for the trade-in, so I called the salesman right away and told him of the discrepancy. Because I discovered the mistake in the middle of Labor Day weekend, I would have to wait until the following Tuesday to get he problem rectified.

The following Tuesday I got my good self out to the dealership. The salesman met me at my car with a big smile and said, “Barb, you were exactly right. The loan guy found the mistake, and you’ll get a check for $700 in a couple of days.” We shook on it, and I went home.

As you might imagine, $700 is a lot of money for me, so I waited for the postman everyday like a lovesick teenager waiting for a letter from her beau. After two weeks went by and no check had appeared, I called the Palmen General Manager and told him my story. While I waited on the phone, the manager confirmed the details with the salesman, returned to the  phone, and said there would be a check waiting for me at the cashier’s office the next morning. Yippee!

Bright and early, around nine o’clock, I pointed the van west and was off to the pick up the check. I immediately plopped it in the bank and now my savings account is fatter than it has been in over five years.

As I was doing the dance of joy over that feat, Tom from Erickson Mobility came to see whether he could fix Ken’s power wheelchair, so it would fit into the van. He almost had to take the whole chair apart, but there was a way to lower the seat a couple of notches, so now the magic wheels could be lifted into the van on the lift. Not only did he fix the chair, he adjusted the lift and told us the car might be older, but the lift was only two years old–and get this, he remembered installing it. Yippee–again!

Well, Ken and I couldn’t let these two wonderful events go by without celebrating, so we got dolled up and went out for an inaugural date. We decided on having a light supper at IHOP because I had a BOGO (buy one get one) coupon. If we had been at a five-star restaurant, we wouldn’t have been any happier.

So God Bless the good folks at Palmen Motors and Erickson Mobility in Racine. And if you think this testimony is an unsolicited commercial, you’d be exactly right. It’s nice to know there are honest people still running businesses right in my own backyard.

3 thoughts on “A Red Letter Day

  1. What a great story. It seems things have worked out well with this van and I’m happy for you both. I have to say that I love “I waited for the postman everyday like a lovesick teenager…” I’m not sure today’s teenagers wait for anything (maybe a txt message) but I remember waiting for letters.

Leave a Reply

