The Human Connection

handsDo you ever wonder why you connect with one person and not another? Why do we develop friendships and associations with certain people and not with others? What makes such a thing happen, and more so, why do some relationships last a lifetime and others don’t?

Some short-term relationships can be beneficial and help you grow in a direction you want to pursue, while other relationships are with people who journey with you for a lifetime,  allowing you to express your talents and gifts and meet you on a deeper level.

Some people believe it’s simple chemistry which brings us together. I like to think meeting your soul mate or a friend who is closer than blood, is more than some chemical reaction. Wouldn’t it make sense if relationships are just a chemical reaction, they eventually peter out?

Some people believe we are attracted to other people based on the energy they radiate.  I think we can all agree that we operate on some kind of internal electricity, right? So, it makes sense when a person’s “vibe” is the kind of energy we want to acquire, we feel a strong attraction to them. Just being with them helps us adjust our energy so we can learn and grow from them to make changes in our own lives.

The result is this: relationships with other people is a reflection of the relationship you have with yourself.  If you are troubled, your relationships with others will be troubled. If you are “in tune” to your true self, you will have friends who are like you, enrich you, and connect with you.

With the death of my father and my dear sister-in-law in the past month, I have been thinking about the life beyond our conscious life.  I’m not sure if I believe in reincarnation, but I do like the concept. To think that we travel one life after another with people we love is a wonderful idea, especially after losing a person we dearly love. Knowing we never have to say goodbye forever is comforting. The idea we will go to some heavenly place after death free of pain and care to be reunited with people who went before us is also comforting. I surely hope it is true.

I need to believe my life has a purpose. I am on a journey to improve my soul on the way to enlightenment–where I understand the truths of this life and beyond. Perhaps I am more Buddhist than I know.  I do think the journey we all are experiencing is to try to heal personal wounds and  find peace inside. We must learn to love who we are, and then no matter where the journey takes us, the right people will show up and then we will never travel alone again.

 

Leave a Reply

