Inspiration in the Backyard

Yesterday I had energy to burn. I buzzed through my chores, wrote a couple of chapters on my next novel. Arranged a meeting with yet another state agency on Friday, and then I enjoyed the afternoon on the patio with paint, brushes, canvas and easel. That’s right. I had enough time to paint. Ernie kept me company while happily chewing on a rawhide bone.

The afternoon was cool and just breezy enough to be comfortable and not strong enough to blow my supplies around. I’ve been dying to do this for some time now, so I was “in spirit” as the afternoon sped by as I slapped some acrylic paint down on my canvas. You see, my dear father-in-law has been spending many retirement hours in his basement making frames for my paintings. It was time to fill at least one of them.

It’s rare when something nice turns out the first time around, but yesterday the planets aligned and this is what happened. I love sunsets.

5 thoughts on “Inspiration in the Backyard

  1. It’s stunning!!!!! Wow! I’m green with envy. I’m a paint by numbers kind of girl and then it never looks like it should so I fudge. You’ve got real talent there. It looks so cheery.

Leave a Reply

