What to do When You’ve Been Evicted

The July 4th holiday week(end) is over. The flags flew. The parades went past. The picnic food has been devoured.  The fireworks blasted into the night sky. Now it’s time to endure the rest of the long, hot summer.

Our after the 4th celebration began by being “evicted” from our home on Saturday. A group of our friends and family have formed an “Share the Care” organization, and on July 6th, they came to do some heavy-duty cleaning in my not-so-clean kitchen. I am a great cook, but a poor housekeeper. Somehow I attract dust, dirt, and clutter and have no burning desire to do much about it. I can be quite sure I will never receive the “Good Housekeeping Seal of Approval.”

On the outside of the house, the gutters were full of leaves and debris which should have been cleared last fall, but I am unable to climb a ladder to clear the stuff — so, like the kitchen, the crap built up. My dear friend Dave and his wife Terry worked all day in the Saturday heat to get the job done.

How do I thank such generosity and hard work?  How do I ever even the score? How can I ever return the favor?

The answer is, I can’t. At least not right now. I can only say “Thank You” and let them all know how much I appreciate their hard work to help us. I can be thankful they love us enough to give up a Saturday to help Ken and I keep our house in working order. Being on the receiving end of such unselfish love is a blessing.

And what did Ken and I do during our eviction? Well, we enjoyed breakfast together at a restaurant, gassed up the car, and faced the holiday traffic to go to Chicago to wish our nephews congratulations after their graduation milestones. We ate too much and laughed even more, as we shared the afternoon with the McCloskey Clan. All-in-all a great way to end the holiday weekend.

And now, like everybody else, it’s back to work.  Today it’s “Subordinating Conjunctions” and a review of Prepositional Phrases. Color me excited.

5 thoughts on “What to do When You’ve Been Evicted

  1. Oh Barb, you are keeping the stiff upper lip, I can see. Where on earth will you live? I am so sad for you both. I keep saying we are all one paycheck or one illness from being on the street. So many of us have no idea how fragile our lives can be financially. I’ll say some extra prayers for you.

    • I hope you didn’t think Ken and I were thrown out of our house by the bank. What I meant to say was, my friends scheduled to help me out with a day of cleaning while Ken and I could have some fun together. We’re Okay. Truly. Living in our little bungalow in Racine, Wisconsin.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

