Rainy Days and Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays . . .

world_spinningHave you ever had a time when  you’d like to jump off the earth to make it stop spinning? Of course, literally such a thing never could happen because we have our old pal gravity keeping our feet on the ground. But this week, I’d like to take one giant leap for woman kind and find a nice quiet place to finish my novel and let the world spin on without me.

This week has proven to be extremely jam packed with too many tasks. Mid-term grades are due on Friday, and I still have a pile of papers to grade and post to the school website. Officials from two different agencies are coming to our house today for Ken’s care. Then there’s the preparation for my father’s funeral next week. Thank God, my sister and brother have taken on the bulk the what needs to be done, but I want to participate, too. Last night I went through all of the photos I have taken for family events (I was a self-appointed family photographer) to find good snaps of my Dad to show people how he lived his life. It took me most of the evening to get the pictures together to take to the funeral home, so they can create a slide show to help people remember happy times. I also volunteered to speak. I feel compelled to tell the people about my Dad’s life from my perspective of the eldest daughter. I remember things my siblings don’t, but so far, inspiration has eluded me.

On top of the “to do’s,” Ken has been cooped up in the house for over a week because the rains just keep coming. I thought we might have to commission an ark to be built, but today we might get a break. At least the sky is only partly cloudy. Perhaps it’s time to send out the dove? I always have a sense of guilt when he house bound for too long.

I hate myself when I complain about weather, but one must admit, what is beyond our control can be a real pain in the butt. Our area hasn’t suffered flooding like a lot of folks west of here, but lots of rain means the grass grows as fast as the weeds, and they city doesn’t allow herds of goats to come in and clear the green stuff. So put  grass cutting chore on the list.

Thank God I have good friends willing to help. Over the weekend they met to discuss how they could lend a hand. Ray has even set up a Facebook page so the band of angels are able to coordinate their schedules.  Now all I have to learn how to take a deep breath and “let it be.” You would think such a simple thing wouldn’t be so difficult to do, huh? Of course, they can’t grade papers or find pictures of my father or write my father’s eulogy or meet with state officials.

I have hope, though. Experience has shown when the rain stops falling, I’ll be stronger to deal with things as they come. I just don’t deal well with tsunami waves.

4 thoughts on “Rainy Days and Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays . . .

  1. I think it’s wonderful that Ray has set up a FB page to help you. What a wonderful thing to do – friends like this are so precious 😀 Stay strong and focused, my friend xoxoxo

  2. I so understand. When things like that started overwhelming me, my daughter, the wise one, would say to me, breathe in, breathe out, repeat. Then let others earn their wings by helping. I always love to be of service to someone but had a hard time allowing the help. Now I know better. We were all ready for the rain to go away. It did, now we are melting. I’m begging Mother Nature for balance. I am also very sorry for your loss. The busy work may keep the grief at bay for a time. It sometimes catches you when you least expect it. I’m saying extra ones for you.

Leave a Reply

