Being Connected

technology-solutionLast night I watched the commercials more carefully than most nights. Usually, I let them pass before my eyes and not allow them into my head, but I became intrigued with the Windows 8 commercial. As most of you know, this software allows people to connect all of the electronic paraphernalia together, so the user can be “connected” at all times.

Hmmm .  . . I wonder just how connected people really are these days.

It seems to me that “being connected” has nothing to do with physical human interaction. This bothers me. I realize I’m showing my age here, but tough. Maybe the young people building this kind of software need to realize they are actually building walls around themselves, and the only interaction with another real human needs a machine to facilitate it.

I long for the days when kids could gather in the park and not have their parent’s worry that some boogie man would come along and snatch them. I wish kids could go for a bike ride with each other and not have to be concerned with a hurried motorist mowing them down. I long for the days when neighbors knew each other and helped each other. I long for coffee clutches with my girlfriend next door. Why did all of these fears come to pass? Instant communication which is possible by technology which connects us. Be serious. Every night the news media scares us all to death. If a murder didn’t happen that day in our own community, they dredge one up in Timbuktu. Really? We need to know this? I think not.

This post is a vendetta against technology. It is a rant about how the wonderful capabilities of technology is used. I love my laptop. I am entertained by my HD television. I have an wireless printer, for godsakes. If I could afford a smart phone, I’d have one of those too. I just wish we all could take a step back from technology and realize it is not the be-all and end-all of existence. Keep your  Iphone on vibrate when your visiting with friends. Lock away the tablets and computers for a couple of hours and go out an play or take a walk in the woods.

We need to find the balance, and so far, we’re not there.

5 thoughts on “Being Connected

  1. I’d hate to think what would happen to the young ones if we suddenly lost all this technology – YIKES, they’d be lost! I love having ‘time out’ from the gadgets and just sitting back relaxing without worrying about calls and emails. It’s great to take a break from it all 😉

Leave a Reply

