Murphy’s Law in Action

murphys_lawToday was one of those “Murphy” days. You know, what could go wrong, will go wrong. (See the sign?)

I spent the morning cutting grass and then attempted to trim the edges. I dragged out three extension cord and plugged them together, so I could reach around the front of the house with the trimmer. Just before I got to the farthest edge, the darn thing ran out of string. I threw the trimmer on the ground, and stamped my feet like a two year old. Damn! In that one moment, the frustration of a lot of things came out. My usual controlled self took a powder and the raging bitch emerged.

I yelled, “I didn’t sign up for this! This was supposed to be Ken’s job. Not mine!”  In my mind, grass is men’s work. My dad did it. Then my brother’s did it. Then my ex-husband did it. I never touched a lawnmower until now. Yuck!

To soothe my weed-whacker blues, I went into the house, drank a BIG glass of water, plopped down in front of my morning soap opera, and then played a couple of rounds of Candy Crush–only to lose each round.

To change my mood, I asked Ken to go out for lunch. We had a few minutes of fun at the Burger King, enjoying the $4 senior special and the oldies they were playing over the radio. After we were full of grease and sugar, I drove to the Walgreen’s for a quick prescription pick up and then it would be home to grade tests and evaluate student paragraphs. At least that was the plan.

When I went to pay for my ONE prescription, it turned out I didn’t have enough money in the checking account to cover it. Ouch. I hate it when that happens, but somehow when I go to buy something for me, the funds are too low. Every time it does, I’m embarrassed, and I end the event by apologizing to the clerk for causing so much trouble and leave defeated again.

These financial downturns are part of the trip down the MS road, and today, it was too much. I drove home in silence and walked into the backyard, took a deep breath and looked around. Even the grass still needs to be mowed, I found peace by just looking at the paper poppies and all of the flowers I’ve planned to delight our spring and summer. Even though much of the yard is over-grown and needs some serious weeding and trimming, it still was beautiful.

8 thoughts on “Murphy’s Law in Action

  1. Great old saying I use for days like this..”This too shall pass.” Unfortunately, sometimes they don’t pass fast enough! Hope you have a restful “rest” of the day!

  2. I’ve never had a husband do the yard work for me. At least the second one started the mower for me. I kind of found the yard work meditative like dishes or ironing. No one bothers me when I’m doing those chores in case they may be enlisted to work. I know what you mean about Murphy’s Law. Had several brushes with that myself. Hope things pick up for you. Boy, do I understand that one. There is a book on my shelf, ” This isn’t the Life I Ordered”. Time to read again. 😦

      • From Amazon’s page:
        This is Not the Life I Ordered: How to Keep Your Head Above Water When Life Keeps Dragging You Down by Yanehiro, Jan, Speier, Jackie, Risley, Michealene Cristini and Collins Stephens, Deborah (

  3. So sorry you have had such a tough day. Sometimes when things pile up, we need to let things out just as you did. Wish I was closer so I could be of help for you Barb. Your cup runneth over! Your garden is awesome! A much better day is on its way.

  4. It sounds like ‘one of those days’ that I just hate. I can’t start my trimmer so I used the hand cutters to trim the edges last weekend – what a tiresome job! I really hope things pick up for you soon. I’m thinking about you and wishing you the best…

Leave a Reply

