Springing Into Action

iris 003I live in a part of Racine that dates back to the 1950s. All of the houses are different and most are well-kept. People in this area love their homes and their city lots and go to great lengths to take care of both. I am no exception. However, keeping a yard looking good on a small budget is more challenging than you might think.

On Saturday, I treated myself to exploring a new green house  about 30 minutes from my home. This place is in the middle of Nowheresville, but the flowers were amazing. I was in dangerous territory on a limited budget. I could do so much damage in there because when I’m around flowers, I’m like an alcoholic in a saloon. I had to restrain myself from filling up the entire back of my SUV with pretty plants, and I’m proud to announce I didn’t get drunk. . . only a little tipsy. With a few blooms in the back of my car, I turned up the oldies channel and sang with the radio all the way home.

Then yesterday was a perfect day. The temperature was in the mid 70s, with a light breeze, the sun was bright, and the sky was blue. If I ever find a genie in a bottle, I will instruct him to make everyday like yesterday. It was as close to San Diego weather as possible.

The first thing I did was purchased two cans of spray paint –one red and one sage green — for $3 each at Big Lots. Then I went home and started spraying. My old pots that had seen better days got to look like new with a fresh coat of the Rustoleum make-up. The rusty iron umbrella stand got a coat of the sage green (which matches the umbrella), and one of the old park benches got a new coat of pale yellow paint that I had in the basement. I felt like a little fairy going from one item to the next with my magic wand, spraying or slathering color where there was none. It was great! After things were dry, (and it didn’t take long on this warm, breezy day), Ken and I celebrated out patio with a glass of ice tea.

I was so happy with my accomplishments, that is, until I sat down in my chair to watch 60 Minutes and within a few minutes, I couldn’t move. The arthritis in my body let me know it wasn’t happy. Even my fingertips were screaming that I had made them work too hard. But tough. I was happy. I spent my day doing things I love to do, so I got out the Advil and let myself recover.

I love this time of year when I can watch things grow and colors fill my yard. It’s just too bad I’m getting older and have to pay for my efforts. I just have to learn to take small sips of spring excelsior.

9 thoughts on “Springing Into Action

  1. Hi Barb,
    We must have had the same feeling, the same goal and the same budget! I painted wy white lawn furniture and also did planting… feels so good. Yours sounds awesome, love the choice of colors, too! 🙂 Dy

  2. Love the painting of the irises. Looking forward to pictures also. It’s frustrating that what we could easily do a few years ago, becomes painful as we age. When I had a yard, I would stay out till dark and the bugs started eating me. Those are the kinds of tasks that feed your soul.

    • I guess I just have to learn to bend and stretch more often when I’m not gardening. And you’re right, seeing things bloom and grow is exciting. Maybe that’s why I like teaching, too.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

