Lazy Day of “Summer”

cappuccino (1)Experts say following the same routine or doing the same mundane things the same way makes for a lazy brain. I guess it has something to do with forming new pathways for the synapses -but don’t quote me, I’m the person who took one science class, remember. Today I shook up my brain to the max! In fact, I spent my whole day totally backwards.

As most of you know, I start writing as soon as I get up in the morning. No so today. Today I overslept and was scheduled to meet a friend for a cup of coffee at 10 a.m. It was already 9:15 when I finally rolled my carcass out of bed and stumbled into the kitchen. Ken had been up for about an hour and a half already, so thank goodness he had the coffee brewed and sitting on the hot burner. My eyes were full of grit from a hard night’s sleep, and even a splash of cold water didn’t revive me. I felt like I was in a drugged stupor. (Not that I’ve ever used drugs, mind you. So I’m really guessing with that remark.)

I have no idea why I was feeling so sluggish. Perhaps a cold is coming on? Perhaps my outing with both Patrick and Ken yesterday was too much. I don’t know. I NEVER feel that way when I get up. I’m the kind of person who is alert and raring to go as soon as my toes touch the floor. Who was this sleepyhead anyhow?

I probably would have canceled my date if I hadn’t been looking forward to seeing Heidi. She started off as the best neighbor I ever had, then we became close friends, and now she’s the dear soul who edits my books. In fact, one of her first questions was, “When is Finding Gessler coming out?” (Her mother is a BIG fan of mine and I’m sure Heidi would like to bring her a copy of the new book as soon as it is released.)  I had to tell her I really didn’t know. “Hopefully, it’ll be out by the end of summer.”

We enjoyed our conversation over a cup of delicious cappuccino on her back patio. Yeah! It was like a summer day today. No whiny about the weather here. We discussed our summer classes. (We’re both teaching at the community college this year.) But even with the anticipation of starting a new class and the great fancy coffee that Heidi made me, I was still dragging my anchor.

By the time I left, it was noon. I drove home and made lunch for Ken and I. Today it was summer fare–a lettuce and tomato sandwich with mayo. (No, I didn’t forget the bacon. At $6.99/pound they can keep the greasy stuff.) After lunch I had to cut the grass or hire a herd of goats–and as we’re not zoned for farm animals, my only alternative was to rev up the mower and travel around the backyard much like a rat forced to go round and round until he gets to the center. (You can tell how much I love to cut grass.)

But now it’s 3:30 p.m and I can finally sit down to write my blog. I know this story is a pretty weak attempt, but I think the important thing to remember I’m exercising my brain, even though I would have really rather taken a nap.

One thought on “Lazy Day of “Summer”

Leave a Reply

