The Agony & Ecstasy of Spring Gardening

spring gardenNow that the weather is staying warm for a couple of days in a row, I enjoy the morning hours writing to the sounds of many birds chirping. It’s so peaceful to hear them singing to one another. I’m thankful we live in a neighborhood that has big trees so they stay around. In fact, one of the tallest trees on our city block is planted in my backyard. Never mind it’s a messy locust tree with teeny little leaves that get into everything, and it sends baby locust trees all over my yard that I happily mow down with my lawn mower. The tree provides a nice perch for so many outdoor friends.

But now its time to get off my butt and start discovering what happened to my yard after the long winter. I sure wish I could look out the backyard and it would look like the picture above, but that’s just a dream. A fantasy.

Without looking I know the weeds are doing well. I sure wish they weren’t such hardy critters. I did notice that the hyacinths are blooming because I smelled their beautiful fragrance. The daffodils across the street are in bloom, so mine must be close behind. Tulips will come later. Now is the time to resurrect the dormant geraniums from the basement and encourage them to grow again. I always get such joy from watching my flowers awaken and assure me that spring is here–even though the weatherman often tells a different story.

But like all chores, I have to lay the foundation before I can get to the real fun. That means picking up sticks and getting rid of old clutter that covers the lawn–like dead leaves and debris that blew in over the late fall and winter months.  The next step is to tune up the lawn mower, so it will run through the summer months again. This is my least favorite gardening chore–probably because I always had a man in my life who took on that responsibility up until now. I guess I’m lucky that I’ve had to endure the chore just recently since Ken can’t walk any more.

So, if I miss a post in the coming months. Don’t worry about me. I’m just outside enjoying the birds and flowers — or cutting the grass that grows with so little effort.

Happy spring!

Thanks for reading.

Barbara

3 thoughts on “The Agony & Ecstasy of Spring Gardening

  1. It’s interesting you don’t like cutting the grass. I never had a man who would do it. The last one at least kept the mower in good order for me. To me it’s meditative, like washing dishes or ironing. I can get lost in the process. Funny thing about those jobs, no one bothers you while you are doing them, least they be required to help. 🙂 Enjoy the warm.

    • You are so right, Marlene. When cutting grass or the other chores you mentioned, no one volunteers to lend a hand. Meditation. Good thought. I think I’ll replace my cranking about the chore and raise my thoughts to a higher plane. Thanks for the suggestion!

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

