A Bird Out Of Place

Eastern_Wild_Turkey_HenThis morning I had to make an emergency run to Milwaukee to pick up some very necessary medication for Ken. As I pulled onto the four-lane highway that would take me north to my destination, there was a wild turkey stuck in the middle of the road. The poor bird screaming and was running to and fro, not knowing what to do, which really isn’t surprising because you see, turkeys are not the brightest birds in the world. But, I’m happy to say motorists slowed down to give this confused bird a chance to think about his next step.

This lone bird must have lost his flock. Perhaps he slept late and missed the day”s excursion with his buddies. But there he was he was frantically wandering through the traffic, looking for a safe way out. His tail feathers were down on the ground. There would be no showy plumage today.

Can you image being that bird in the middle of such heavy traffic? All around there was mechanical behemoths whizzing by you. His terror must have freaked him out! But after a short time, he finally stumbled onto the boulevard which divides the north and south lanes traffic. Then the cars and trucks commenced moving slowly as they watched the lonely bird. I couldn’t watch what came next. I hope he found the courage to spread his wings and flew OVER the cars and land safely in a wooded area or around some pond. I hope he found his flock and was able to return with a good wake-up story. It’s not often you see a wild turkey in the city.

As I continued toward my morning destination, I thought this bird must have felt a little bit like I did when I walked the streets of Manhattan for the first time. I couldn’t get my natural bearings because the buildings are so tall you can’t see the sun. It took  me a while to realize the street signs gave the headings of east, west, north and south, so that helped. But I live in a place where there are no subways, taxis, and buses that never run on schedule, so everyone drives their own car to get where they need to go. So, like the bird I wandered to and fro from one tourist site to another, hoping I’d get good directions from helpful folks.

Luckily, though, I traveled with my girlfriends into the unfamiliar culture and big city. I made sure we stayed together and didn’t get into trouble because we might wander into an unsafe part of the city. I can only hope, the poor, lost wild turkey caught up with his family and friends and will rest easy tonight after a harrowing start to his day.

3 thoughts on “A Bird Out Of Place

Leave a Reply

