Truth, Experience, & Feedback

communicatingI have been re-evaluating  how I can make by blog better. One area is my categories. Now that I’ve been at this for about six months, I realize I don’t use half of the ones I created, which is probably due to the fact that I had no idea of what I was doing when I first began. We all go through this, right? Please say, yes.

Since that time, I think I have a better idea of what I talk about everyday, and now it’s time to make an adjustment. But my worst fear is, when I go to make the change to make navigation easier for you,  I will screw up what I’ve previously created. I think changing anything electronically can be a nightmare for people without a doctorate in computer science. But I digress. . .

Basically, I talk  write about three things.

  • My experience with Ken’s journey through Multiple Sclerosis
  • My life and writing experience
  • My Soapbox Opinions

However, if there’s one thread that runs through all of these topics, it’s truth–as I see it, of course. This is important because  I want you to know me as a person through what I write. I want you to know I’m genuine, sincere, and sometimes funny. I owe you that. (Besides, it’s the only way I know how to be. I’m truly not that creative to make up falsehoods—ever. It’s too much work!)

So, when you call up my blog, what you see is what you get. I know some of you appreciate this because you’ve told me so. But I do have some concern about those of you who “LIKE” and don’t give any other feedback. In six months, there was only one brave soul who disagreed with me, and we all know we don’t have a “DON”T LIKE” button, or a “YOU’RE OFF YOUR ROCKER, LADY” button.

I think feedback is one of the best things we can do for each other. Every blog I follow, I comment. I take a little time to think of something I can contribute and I write a couple of lines. I LOVE COMMENTS!  In college, I was one of the rare ones who looked for the RED INK on my papers. Why? Because the red ink helped me grow as a writer. So, tell me what you think about what I’ve written. I value every comment and try to respond to everyone who makes an effort. Even if you think I’m full of crap, say so. If you think the writing is great, PLEASE say that, too.

Don’t be afraid to voice your opinion–Wordpress and Facebook buddies. I can take it. After years of  professional writing, I’ve grown a thick skin. After all, isn’t our craft built on two principles? Practice and feedback. Isn’t this how we grow as writers?

I’’ll thank you in advance for responding. Very Sincerely,

Barbara, Barb, Barbie – pick one

8 thoughts on “Truth, Experience, & Feedback

  1. Barbara, I agree with so much in this post! It drives me nuts when people just “like” a post (and there are people, including someone who’s already liked this post, that I’m convinced just watch the WordPress reader and like everything that comes up).

    I also learned something about myself reading this post: I look for the red ink, too! I love professors whose comments, even if they are critical, show that they took the time to read and think about your work. If you read it and liked it, that’s helpful for me to know; if you read it and didn’t like, that’s also helpful. But if I can’t tell that you read it at all, what use is that?

    Great post—thanks for an interesting read!

    • Thanks for commenting, Nichole. Feedback is vital and I think writing is one profession that is really looking for it. You would think other writers would know that, huh?

  2. I notice you have 8 ‘likes’ and no comments, Barb. I get this a lot as well so I’m not sure if people are ‘liking’ just to ‘like’ and not reading the content. It can be a little off-putting at times (particularly when you write a post about ‘likes’ and no comments!) I did a post like this once and one of my ‘likers’ commented fervently that they absolutely read every single post, but when I checked my emails I saw that they had ‘liked’ eight of my posts within one minute (so they must be a speed reader!) LOL 😀

    • Diane — It’s good to know that I’m not the only one frustrated by this. How do you build an audience if you don’t know what they think? At least when they buy your book because they have some “skin in the game.” Even if they don’t read the novel, at least there will be royalties down the road.

  3. I totally understand your fear of making the change and it resulting in everything being messed up, I am the same! Please let me know if you do make the change and what happens 😛

  4. I know what you mean. I’m still trying to figure out how wordpress works. But with my brain working at half mast, somedays, I just can’t think of a comment. Sometimes I don’t agree with your stand so I make no comment but read it anyway. I’m always open to new ideas. Like so many others, I get likes from people who could not possibly be interested in my subject matter. I still appreciate the link to theirs to visit other sites I would not normally go to. It’s an education one way or the other. Good luck with your changes.

  5. The whole digital platform for writers is the topic of my post today on http://www.lisawritesfiction.wordpress.com Seeing yours regarding likes vs real comments struck a chord as well. It is the red ink fromwhich we grow and it is writers out there writiing as well as everyday readers we need feed back from. Hear! Hear! I hear you. I agree. I read, therefore, I comment. Now on to the other point. . . making changes with in the wordpress format and what happens to what you like when you make changes… I have no answers but do understand. You will see on my blog there was a long stretch of silence. It is thes two points which I pondered. Thanks for sharing. I will be back to see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

