Taxing Times

frustrated writerIt’s tax time. I always put off filing until the first week of April, because in my situation is almost comical to file in the first place. But, I went onto the Turbo-Tax website yesterday, filled out the information that was required and happily learned I have a refund coming both from federal and state. Yeah!

The only problem is, the IRS won’t accept my return because they cannot verify my identity. They will not give me an e-PIN number, and won’t accept my AGI from last year. So, I fixed what I thought was wrong and tried again, only to have the damn thing bounce back yet again. Now, I find myself in this electronic looping nightmare. I have two choices, hopefully get an IRS rep on the phone to help me, or I can file by mail.

I wouldn’t mind filing by mail, but I can’t print the forms because my printer has run out of ink, which means before I can do anything, I have to go the office supply store and buy new printer cartridges. The good news is the sun is shining, so after lunch I will venture out to get what I need and then try again with the IRS and Turbo Tax.

It just seems everything nowadays doesn’t go as I anticipate. I have also been going ’round and ’round with the mortgage company. They  escrow my insurance premium in my monthly mortgage payment, but yet they didn’t pay the bill — so the insurance company is taking withdraws from my bank account. So far, this hasn’t been resolved, either.

Don’t get me wrong — I love technology and shortcuts, but when they don’t work the way they are supposed to work, they are twice as hard to fix than when we used paper and pen.

So say a prayer to the electronic gods for me and wish me luck. I know I’ll need it.

Barb

 

3 thoughts on “Taxing Times

  1. My daughter had trouble with e-filing with H&R Block and also had to do hers by hand. You have my deepest sympathies. I’ve also had the same experience with the taxes not being paid out of escrow, the insurance was paid ok. Makes you want to pull out your hair. My first husband used to yell at me all day April 15 because he waited till the last minute. The year after our divorce, I found a wonderful tax man. His charge is exobitant for my meager income but we have been together 27 years and never a problem of any kind. He lasted longer than my last marriage and I got custody of him. 🙂 I can tell you I sleep well knowing he’s taking care of the taxes. He darn well better never retire! Hang in there. BTW, I’m way behind on my reading. Trying to catch up tonight.

    • I’m glad you got custody of the tax man! 🙂 The woman we used moved to England. The guy who replaced her wasn’t someone I liked. And this is the first time I’ve had trouble on-line. But I out-foxed the machine with a “zero” and the returns went through. Who knew I was so smart? I always love your comments! Keep ’em coming.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

