Being Alone With Somebody

The Packer Gang on Game Day

The Packer Gang on Game Day

Most every morning before I begin writing, I read my email and the blogs that I have subscribed to. (Yes, Miss Rondon, I ended that sentence with a preposition.) 

I think I do this because I never know what I will write about until I sit down and actually start typing. Sometimes the other blogs inspire me to write something you might think is profound. Well, sorry to say–not today.

I’ve cautioned you this blog’s purpose is to have none. I use the forum to help me understand who I am and then have the guts to actually share it with the world. I also want you to know that I’m a writer of novels and short stories. I want you to know that I have been published and expect someday to have my books bring me very large checks so I can crawl out of the pit of poverty that I have fallen into. But most of all, I would like you to know me, and hopefully, like me. But I’ll warn you, I am a nice person but so far, not that great. I have a myriad of accomplishments in my past, but my present is nothing to “write home about.” Especially lately.

The cold weather that’s blasting down from Canada has kept Ken and I in the house for over a week. Along with the pittance of snow that has accompanied the wind chills that are below zero, it is dangerous for Ken to go outside. Even Ernie is bothered by the weather. Our little fair-weather pug usually meanders when we let him outside, but for the last week, he goes out, does a quick leg lift and high-tails it back into the house!

So, we’ve been staring at each other from across the room with our computers on our laps, catching a few daytime television shows. The most exciting thing that’s happened in the past week has been a clogged up drain in the basement.  I’ve had to go out for food and medication, but like a trained homing pigeon, I find my way home before enjoying another human being’s company. But, right now, it must be this way. Shame on you GROUNDHOG for getting our “Early Spring” hopes up.

Living like this makes me feel sad for the hundreds of elderly people who are left alone in our society. People need people. We’re wired to be social. Anybody who contradicts this is either stupid or mentally ill. So, when a person has reached an age when they have outlived their friends and family, what can they do? If they are well, of course, they can reach out and make new friends. If they are ill, though, they probably don’t have the energy to reach out, or they think they will be a bother to someone else. It must be awful for them to just wait for death to come to release them from their loneliness.

I have no answer for such a horrible existence of so many seniors. For now, Ken and I have each other and neither of us would have it any other way. Looking ahead, though, I just hope I am not the last one left. It’s the worst fate I can think of. (Yup, I did it again, Miss Rondon–I see you rolling over in your grammar grave!)

NOTE: Miss Rondon was my third and fourth grade teacher at St. Sebastian’s Elementary School.

6 thoughts on “Being Alone With Somebody

  1. Yes, I have it on good authority that Miss Rondon is watching your grammer. LOL So, be advised… you should start diagramming your sentences again and pay attention to where the prepositions should fall. My guess is she would not appreciate my …’s all over the place either!! 🙂 Dy

  2. Poor Miss Rondon is fanning her hot face to get those sentences ending with prepositions out of her head! LOL 😀
    We all worry about being alone in our old age. I think the best we can do is enjoy this moment and not allow ‘future worries’ to grind away at any happiness we have now 😉

Leave a Reply

