When a Woman Has to Face “Men’s Work”

toolsOur laundry tubs are clogged. Yuck. I’ve done what I know what to do and that is get out the Liquid Plumber, pour, and wait–that’s the extent of my plumbing expertise. I’m sad to say, the chemicals didn’t do the trick to clear the clog. After  one treatment, the water that was in the tub went down, but when more water is drawn into the tub it just sits there.

I hate it when household annoyances like this come into my world. Like a lot of women my age, I never learned how to take care of such things–after all, I was raised as a GIRL. Now, I’m just a dumb white collar WOMAN with no household skills other than being able to pound a nail in the wall to hang a picture, or to use a screwdriver to tighten a loosen a screw on one thing or another. Oh, and I know how to paint and wallpaper a room.

Now, before you say, “But Barb, you can learn how to do simple household chores.” I will tell you that I DON’T WANT TO LEARN. As far as I’m concerned, plumbing is not supposed to be in  my DNA.

Growing up in world where there was a clear line of demarcation between  “men’s work” and “women’s work,” I figure there are just some things I can be left off the hook to fix. I don’t do car repairs and I don’t do plumbing. Before the last few years, Ken always did things like unclogging pipes and doing simple electrical fixes, but now he doesn’t have the strength or the cognition for these things any longer. So, it’s up to me to figure out how to get this problem solved.

That’s not to say I don’t work around the house. I’m a great cook. I vacuum and dust once in a while. I load and unload the dishwasher. I think this is enough.

Getting back to the problem at hand . . . My first instinct was to call a plumber and be done with it. But plumbers make more than CEOs at large corporations, so I needed to come up with another answer. So, I used one of my life lines and phoned a friend. So, through the goodness of his heart, tonight Ray is coming over after supper to take a look at the problem. Hopefully, he’ll be able to solve it ,and then I’ll be free to wash the laundry. After all, that’s a chore categorized as “women’s work,” right?

Leave a Reply

