Words of Wisdom From an Unlikely Source

dreams

 

I am a sucker for soap operas — true confession. I went into mourning when “All My Children” and “One Life to Live” went off the air after SO MANY YEARS in the television world. I had to say goodbye to characters I had been following since my children were little. I did take a 20-year “vacation” from my favorite stories when I worked. But when VCRs came along, I figured out how to tape my afternoon indulgence and watched them after work.

Since the networks nixed my favorites, I have become a fan of “General Hospital” and “The Young and the Restless.”  

Sometimes Often the plots are rather ridiculous, but sometimes, they are heartfelt and beautiful. Yesterday was one of those rare times.

The event was a wedding. (Yes, weddings are a big theme in these afternoon dramas– so are nasty divorces.) In the scheme of things, this wedding would have been a ho-hum affair. But what was said by the “priest”  resonated with me.

Here’s what was said:

The only thing constant in life is change.

Yesterday is but a dream.

Tomorrow is a vision.

But, today, well-lived makes yesterdays of happiness and every tomorrow a vision of hope.

Isn’t that simply beautiful? And true?

To say more about these lovely words would dissolve the effect. So, I will shut up.

But if you want to ponder something profound today, think about this quote, and tell me how it affected you.

One thought on “Words of Wisdom From an Unlikely Source

Leave a Reply

