A “30-Second Commercial” in Action

Fast-Interview

 

Today was a great day. Not only was it a warm, (40 degrees) sunny day in March, I also got together with my brother at a local coffee shop to help him write a “30-second commercial” for a networking event he has planned for next week. Like a lot of folks in our area, Mark is looking for a job–again. His unemployment compensation will run out soon, so he’s been working hard to polish his resume, attend job fairs and networking events,  put himself in front of hiring managers to get the interview.  Have you heard of this?

If you have found yourself in the unemployment lines, most likely this exercise has been something you’ve had to do. I’ve done it more than once, and believe me, it’s not easy to think of your strengths and experience in that short of time! It’s especially hard when you have to do it in your 50s and you’ve never had to go through such pressure before. Such is the case with my brother.

For me, it was a chance to practice interviewing and writing for “space.” My writing skills haven’t been used in this way in a long time, and I truly love to help people in this capacity. So, after interviewing him for a while, I wrote a paragraph which outlined his experience in the food service industry, his strengths, and willingness to work any shift.  When he looked his finished 30-second commercial., he said: “This is it?”

I said, “Yup, short and to the point. It’s what they want to hear from you.”

He said, “I can do this.”

I answered. “I have no doubt you’ll be great!”

He breathed a sigh of relief and got up to get his second cup of coffee. When he came back to our table he said, “I just learned they have a position open here.”

My answer was, “Well, go talk to the manager.”

He said, “I’ll go online first and fill out the application.”

I insisted. “Go talk to the manager.”

He looked at me like a deer caught in the headlights, but I gently nudged pushed him into doing himself a favor.

After a few minutes withe the manager, my brother came back with a big smile and a business card in his hand. I was so proud of him! He was brave enough to just walk up to a hiring manager and take a chance.

He said, “God works in mysterious ways. All I have to do is fill out an online application and then call the manager back. He said he’d see to it that I will get an interview!”

I nodded and congratulated him. I didn’t want to burst his religious bubble, but his success was due to the fact he saw an opportunity, and he DID something about it.

So as a follow-up of my post yesterday about success and failure, trying and DOING — this experience proves that taking a deep breath, mustering courage, and taking ACTION can get results. You can pray all you want, but unless you seize the chance, nothing is going to happen. And so it goes for all of us.

P. S. And if my brother never has to use his 30-second commercial again, it did its job.

Ain’t it great to be a writer?

 

 

2 thoughts on “A “30-Second Commercial” in Action

Leave a Reply

