“Finding Gessler” Coming Soon!

Latest Novel from McCloskey

Latest Novel from McCloskey

Good News! Good News! Yesterday, my latest novel, FINDING GESSLER, was accepted for publication! This is the fifth book I’ve had published through Publish America, and I’m as excited this time as I was the first time.

The cover art is compliments of my dear sister-in-law, Sue. She captured exactly the look and feel of the book. I just love it! Thank you, Sue!

Now a bit about the storyline. It’s a novel about a father and has family who were separated by war. Edward Gessler is in Paris when Warsaw was invaded by the Nazis in 1939. Believing his Jewish family is now dead, Edward becomes a double agent for MI-5.

After the war, Edward’s eldest son, David, has come of age and longs to know the fate of his father. Thinking that he might have escaped to Israel and joined a Polish Kibbutz, David travels across the world to find his him.

David was only six when his mother Dora and their nanny Heidi fled Warsaw as the bombs fell. He only has childhood memories and no true knowledge about his father.  When he gets to the kibbutz, he must face hard truths that shake up his personal world.

Like all my stories, this one brought me into the world of research, which is my second love next to writing. Some people have told  me they don’t like war stories because of the inhumanity and violence–and that’s okay. But my stories use the war as a backdrop of the times and  focus on the strong relationships that develop between people because of the hardships and pain the characters have to endure.

I’m  so looking forward to signing the contract, getting off the final  manuscript, and then seeing my work added to my bookshelf. Then it’s on to the next novel — God only know which WIP it will be.

This is a joy that will never get old.

11 thoughts on ““Finding Gessler” Coming Soon!

Leave a Reply

