“Pharma” Advertising — It’s Everywhere, It’s Everywhere!

Soap BoxYup, it’s another Soap Box Day. But I can’t help it. This has to be said. I’m sick of pharmaceutical advertising. I can’t get away from it. It shows up in the most unlikely places, even on the bottom of my WordPress “stats” page. That’s right. At the bottom of my page there was an ad that read:  “Get a colonoscopy–Choose Well.”

REALLY?

Take a look below. Aurora Healthcare must have been on a tight budget. Just look at this guy. He’s reading the Sport’s page with a half smile on his face. Is he amused by what he’s reading?  I know he wouldn’t be smiling if he took the “prep.” Perhaps he thinks he’s doing a good thing by having this test, but he hasn’t got a clue of what’s coming. Or perhaps he has just eaten his last meal and preparing for the two-day fast  The ad doesn’t talk about the cramps and the hours of trotting to the bathroom to get ready for the doctor to probe his backside. And what it the be “IT” all about?  You have to agree — this is a pretty stupid ad.

Now, don’t get the wrong idea. I am not minimizing the importance of this procedure. I know from personal experience how important it is to have this test–I’ve had to have several of them. They may have saved me from colon cancer, but an ad? Geez.

I’m also uncomfortable with ads about erectile dysfunction, “and the ability to be ready when the time is right.”

Or how about the ads for products to get your going when you have constipation or stop you going when you have diarrhea. Yicks!

Isn’t anything private any more? Are pharma companies and medical facilities so incredibly greedy that they have to ADVERTISE this stuff?

After all when did it become vogue for everyone to play doctor beyond taking an aspirin for headache or a cough suppressant when you get a cold? The whole idea of this direct drug advertising has created a culture of people who believe taking a pill will solve anything! But not without the fine print. I’m sure you are as accustomed to the following pharmaceutical CYAs as I am.

“Until you know how this medicine will affect you, you shouldn’t drive or operate machinery.”

“Side effects may include next-day drowsiness, dizziness, headache, or irritability.”

What’s even more perplexing is these medical ads for private stuff are everywhere. On television, radio, magazines, newspapers and now apparently even on the WordPress.com website pages.  I wonder what moron genius placed this ad? I’d like to see the justification for that ad spend. Perhaps they think all bloggers are over 50?

5 thoughts on ““Pharma” Advertising — It’s Everywhere, It’s Everywhere!

  1. I’m with you on this one. I take nothing and plan to keep it that way. I hate the ads and always fast forward through them.Haven’t looked to see what’s on my page but maybe I should. No way to stop it?

  2. Im impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog thats equally educative and interesting, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is something too few men and women are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I came across this in my hunt for something relating to this.

Leave a Reply

