Don’t Forget to Say “Thank You”

Thank YouMany mornings when I’m stuck for a topic to write about, I go out to my fellow bloggers for inspiration. It always works.  This morning, I came across a post by Brad Stanton which inspired me. Not only did he give me a topic to write about today, he reminded me of something I believe in and have practiced for a long time, but for some reason I’ve recently left it behind.

I think I forgot this basic truth because of  the challenges my husband faces with his MS have worn me down. I’ve been feeling trapped and forgotten. I’ve been having a private “pity party” because I dearly miss the man I married 15 years ago. I want to run away–have a vacation– forget about my real life.

I’m sorry to admit that this week I’ve been a bitch. I’ve been cranky and impatient with him, and I’m ashamed of myself.

My salvation came when I read Brad’s blog.

Here’s the message:

“Every morning and every evening, be thankful for what you have.”

Brad reminded me how powerful it is to live a “thankful” life. But living a thankful life everyday can be tough.

I find this easy to do when things are going well–when there’s enough money to pay the bills, when Ken is feeling well and I can still find the man I married under the disability. But when times get tough–like this past few days–when he’s too weak to walk and talk, I become overwhelmed. I feel trapped and alone–not only on the outside, but on the inside, too.

BUT if remember to live thankfully, it doesn’t matter where I am or what is happening around me. I feel blessed. I can handle my life the way it is. I find the strength I need because I’m surrounded by the knowledge that I am lucky.

Let’s face it. Moving your mind to a state of being thankful isn’t that hard. We all can live thankfully, and we’d all be better off if we did. Just start with simple things–like being alive. Like having shelter that protects us. Like having food on the table. Like having a car in the garage that takes us to the grocery store or to friends’ homes for a visit or party.

My list goes on. Like having a  little dog that would rather sit beside me all day than do anything else. Like having a chance to devote my time to a writing career. Like having a computer to capture my words. Like having five books published in the past three years. Like meeting a vast array of new acquaintances who have become friends through the Internet. Like having a chance to inspire others as a teacher. And how could I possibly leave out the host of great friends who love and care about me, and are present whenever I need them. If I would continue with this list it would go on for pages and pages. Just writing this down, helps me feel so much better! It’s like magic–REALLY!

By being thankful for what I have, I will never lack anything. Oh sure, I wish things were different, but in reality, there will always be things I would want to change–no matter how good and prosperous my life was. It’s human nature.

So thanks, Brad, for reminding me that even in the bad times, I am blessed. You really helped me out, buddy.

5 thoughts on “Don’t Forget to Say “Thank You”

  1. I understand just how you feel. Being a caregiver is hard especially if the person you are caring for does not appreciate your efforts. I doubt that it’s true for you. I have kept a gratitude journal that I write in each and every night. Some nights there is just one line. I made it through and I’m breathing. When I was caring for my last husband, I would ask myself how I would feel if the roles were reversed. It made it easier to stay in a kinder mood. Well, now I am where he was and found that things didn’t go both ways. I’m grateful that my children were there to support me in my decision to start out on my own and help until I could start to take care of myself. I’m still a firm believer in filling your own tank to give you the gas to motor on. When you run low on fuel, everything stops. It’s ok to be a bitch once in awhile. 🙂 Hang in there.

    • Thank you. I think I needed to hear your words. It’s been a hard week, but I’ve taken steps to make next week a better one. Like having friends over for the Super Bowl and reaching out to professionals who might have some answers for me.

      ________________________________

    • Thank you, Diane. Since I lived to learn this way, I can handle anything–sometimes badly, but I still can go on. Thanks for always reading my posts and “being there” for me.

Leave a Reply

