Another Blogging Award – This is REALITY

reality-blog-awardI want to thank Michael S. Fedison for nominating, “Author McCloskey Speaks” for a Reality Blog Award Michael is the author of the “Eye-Dancers” young adult novel and website. I know he’d love a visit. I am very humbled that he nominated me. Thanks so much, Michael!

One of the stipulations for this award is to let readers know a little more about the author. The nominees are asked to answer five questions, so you’ll find my answers below.

 

1.  If you could change one thing, what would you change?

I would take a chance as a young person. My life circumstances required me to grow up fast because of my father’s heart condition and my mother’s need to go back to work. I was the oldest child, and heaven help me–A GIRL–so I was expected to pick up the slack and and help my parents. When I was 18, my Aunt Mary in San Diego invited me to live with her. I have always been sorry I didn’t take her up on that offer. I’ve never had the experience of living any where other than “home,” and I think this is one of my shortcomings as a person.

2.  If you could repeat an age, what would it be?

If I could be 21 and know what I know now,–watch out world! I’d go back in a heartbeat!

3.  What is one thing that really scares you?

No one is going to like this answer, but the one thing that scares me the most is the apathy of so many young people. So many students  who have passed through my classes have had no desire to do their best, challenge themselves and have some kind of direction. Even worse, few have no curiosity about their world. They believe what they hear from media and never question its validity. In my mind, if a person loses his curiosity, it’s almost as devastating as dying.

4. What is one dream you have not completed, and do you think you’ll be able to complete it?

I always dreamed about getting a book published, and now that I have had four gone to press, I dream about getting a chance to travel to the all the places I’ve researched and imagined. I especially would like to go to Scotland, the homeland of one of my best friends.

5. If you could be someone else for one day, who would it be?

I admire many strong, brave and famous women, but I don’t know if I’d ever want to be one of them. I am a little afraid to walk around in someone else’s skin for fear I might discover some chink in their armor. I know they must be there because they are as human as I am, and I wouldn’t want to deflate my admiration of them. No. I don’t want to be anybody else, thank you.

Now, I would like to nominate the following blogs for the Reality Award.  I enjoy them almost everyday and would like you to have the opportunity. too. Please check them out and take a look around these wonderful websites!  They are all rich and diverse sites, with so much to offer.

http://davidanaturephotography.wordpress.com

http://cristianmihai.net/about/

http://candycoatedreality.com/

http://insearchofitall.wordpress.com/

http://bottledworder.wordpress.com/

5 thoughts on “Another Blogging Award – This is REALITY

  1. Congratulations, Barbara! It’s taken me a bit to respond. I was stunned you nominated me and pleased. Not quite sure what to do with this or how to do it. Mostly I try to ignore the nominations. They scare me a bit. You so deserve this.

    • Don’t be afraid, Marlene. I think your blog is wonderful. You can past the award on your site, answer the same five questions I did, and then recommend other bloggers you enjoy. B

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

