Copyrights – Think About It

copyright symbolI usually allow myself to journey from slumber to the land of the living at a slow pace each morning. Not having to jump out of bed at the command of an alarm clock is another joy in my life. Usually, at this quiet time, I get inspiration for what I will blog for that day. Today was an idea that made me grin like a Cheshire cat.

I don’t know if you noticed, but a couple of days ago, I finally got around to posting a copyright notice on my site. It’s the usual legalese. I confess I plagiarized it from another blogger and changed the name to protect the innocent. But I got to thinking. What if we had copyright notices directed at specific audiences? What would they look and sound like?

Enjoy the few alternatives that I dreamed up. This is really fun!

 Redneck Copyright Notice:

Ya’ll listen up! Try stealin’ these here words, and you varmints will be SQUARSHED! My shotgun is pointin’ at your scrawny arsh!

 

The Surfer Copyright Notice:

Hey, dude! Hang ten on my words and I’ll be AMPED. A beach bum like that will get a BEAT DOWN. Don’t mess with this BIG KAHUNA. Stealin’ is BOGUS, man.

 

Shakespearean Copyright Notice:

Out, out, ye who would steal these lines! Thou art an ill-bred gudgeon! Take thee away to the magistrate! Then off with your head!

 

Rolling Stones Copyright Notice

Hey, you! Get off of my tales! Hey, you! Get of my poems! Hey, you! Get off of my verse! Don’t come around ‘cause I’ll come crashing you down!

 

So, whatcha think? Isn’t this fun? Now it’s your turn. Write an “alternative” copyright notice and paste it in the comments for all to see. It beats legalese, don’t you think?

 

4 thoughts on “Copyrights – Think About It

  1. Ok, You’ve got me thinking (which is good)
    How about an Elvis Copyright Statement

    If you’re looking for trouble,
    Just steal from my space,
    Don’t take my words
    And put your name in its place.
    If you’ve taken my copy,
    You better put it back,
    I won’t stand for any green-eyed writ-in hack

    Because I’m El-vis-
    My middle name is misery.
    Well, I’m El-vis-
    Don’t you take no– words from me.

  2. George Thorogood copyright

    On the day I was born, the nurses all gathered ’round
    And they gazed in wide wonder, at the joy they had found
    The head nurse spoke up, and she said leave her words alone
    So you can’t steal my words, ‘cause I’m bad to the bone…

    This was fun, Barbara! 😀

Leave a Reply

