A Greeting Worth Sharing

Christmas CardYesterday, I got a nice holiday greeting from Miranda — a woman who has been helping me find writing grants, which if I would be fortunate enough to win, would expand my exposure and talent to a wider audience and built notoriety in the writing world. I met Miranda through my publisher, PublishAmerica, when I signed up for a marketing offering almost a year ago. She works with me and other PA authors to find appropriate grants for their work. She also has offered other suggestions to help me build a following– including this blog, asking for reviews, attempting poetry, etc.

But nonetheless, here’s here greeting:

 

I wanted to take a moment to wish all of you a very Happy Holiday Season. Thank you for doing what you have as authors.

Writing a book and then having the courage to seek publication is truly a rare endeavor that can change the world. Your hard work, dedication and commitment can provide inspiration to those who are starting out in their path as authors, or even those who simply want a good book to read on the topic you have tackled. Books were always a big part of my life growing up and continue to be so today, so I am ever thankful for authors who share their talents with the world.

Wishing you and your families a wondrous holiday and all the best ahead in 2013.

I thought her second paragraph would be inspiration for everyone who is brave enough to call oneself a writer. I know when someone tells me they appreciates my hard work, it makes me work harder to hone my craft. And I’m sure I’m not alone. I’ll bet all of you feel that way, too.

So share the second paragraph and forge ahead — especially seeing the Mayans were wrong; the world didn’t end; and we’ll have 2013 to conjure up more stores, poems and novels to keep people reading.

4 thoughts on “A Greeting Worth Sharing

Leave a Reply

