The Statistics Are In

Write2As a relatively new blogger, I’m interested in seeing what people enjoy reading.  Hmm…..must be the businessperson in me–“Give ’em what they want and they will come.” So, I’ve done a little statistical research and learned that my present audience enjoys the feel good story, Santa Came to Town”  and Angels to the Rescue” got the most views. “When a Funk Sets In,” got the fewest looks.

This little bit of research made me feel good. I guess we’re all looking for things to read that not only entertain us but give us a good feeling when we’ve read the last line. I wanted to jump for joy when I learned this because that’s the stuff I truly enjoy writing!

I admit my world view is somewhat limited, even though I’ve had a chance to travel and see how poor most of the world really is. But, I grew up in a totally different place, a small town where people didn’t lock their doors and citizens cared about each other. My dad was a volunteer fireman for 30 years and my mother was a Girl Scout leader and Den Mother for many years. I even wrote a short story “A Special Neighborhood Watch,which is about how our special neighborhood took care of an elderly neighbor so she could stay in her home.

I also write about times when violence on television was rare. The divorce rate was low, and children played safely in parks without adult supervision. We rode our bikes without helmets and even suffered through the most common childhood diseases, but we were protected in ways that children aren’t today. Oh, there were still wars going on in the world and politicians misbehaving, but I didn’t know about it. I’m just learning a lot about that stuff now on the history channel!

So, I’ve got my answer as to what to write about for the rest of my life. I won’t bring you fantasy tales of wizards, dragons and werewolves. I won’t bring you horror stories. I won’t bring you tales about forensic medicine or murders. I’ll stick to what I know. A happy life with challenges that can have the ability to crush a person, but through love and carrying there will be a happy ending. After all, that’s what all of you have told me you want to read. And I want you all to come back again and again.

7 thoughts on “The Statistics Are In

  1. Well how nice of you to open yourself up to questions. It’s hard to do for some. . . I always seem to be open to advise. Thanks for no Horror stories! Have a great week!!!

  2. Hey, that’s a great statistic! I’m happy with that because I LIKE seeing people appreciate good stuff rather than negative or nihilistic stuff. Good MATTERS!

    I do believe that goodness comes closest to what is actually real for people in the sense that there’s something real and heartwarming about someone taking care of someone else, or friends doing something beautiful together. It’s like we all remember innately, outside of culture, that good is good. It’s universal. We are social beings after all, we NEED the nurturance and the inspiration and hope that these positive stories give us, especially if the rest of the world is mostly a terrible place to be. Thanks for sharing,

    Dirk

Leave a Reply

