The Joy of Reconnecting

This iris 003morning I’m meeting a friend for coffee. We were associates at Met Life about five years ago; in fact, I helped train him. Needless to say, both of us found out the insurance/investment business wasn’t our forte. Afterwards, we both got very sick, recovered, and have dealt with a long bout of unemployment.

Before he took the same ill-fated turn into the world of insurance that I did, he was a political organizer. In fact, we met in college when we both worked in the Student Government. Like me, he also has a disabled spouse and must take on more domestic responsibilities. Also like me, he spends his spare time applying for jobs online and posting funny pictures and comments on this worldwide communication tool to keep in touch with friends and acquaintances. We’ve got a lot in common.

We’re meeting today because he needs donations for a charity fund raiser. So, I’m passing along an autographed copy of my first novel, “Apple Pie and Strudel Girls,” a couple of necklaces that I designed and the painting you see here that I created during my acrylic painting phase last year.

I’m looking forward to find out if Boyd is as happy. Even though neither of us are drawing a regular paycheck, we are working. I like to thin for the better good.

3 thoughts on “The Joy of Reconnecting

Leave a Reply

