It’s Not Summer, But I Need a Vacation!

Finish lineTonight is the second to last night of my writing class. In a way, I’m sad, but in a way I’m very glad. It’s not bittersweet, it sweet bitters. In other words, this class has worn me down. I think this class has contributed to the funk I wrote about yesterday.

On Monday, we went through the final chapter of the book on homonyms — of course, to dumb everything down so people can understand, the authors now they call these words that sound alike and have different meanings, “Sound Alike/Look Alike” words.

Egads! Do the authors really think adult students are too stupid to understand the Latin word Homonyms? After all, if you know anything about Latin roots, you can figure out the meaning of the word from it’s syllables. But, I digress.

After we finished the course work, I had planned a spelling relay game to help them review the spelling words that might appear on their final. The reaction was unbelievable.

“Aw, this is stupid!”

“Do we have to do this?”

 “What do you mean, working in teams?”

There was so much push back from them, I blew a gasket and told them to forget it. Then I announced the class was over. I had enough of their lazy and apathetic attitudes, and I wasn’t going to hide it any more. They saw the “Wrath of Barbara” clearly, and they left like children, mumbling they would see me Wednesday.

I couldn’t understand what had just happen at the time. All of my other classes had fun doing this spelling relay. They enjoyed the camaraderie of working together as a team and the competition of going up against another team of their peers.  On one level, I was disappointed in myself for not controlling my temper better, but on another, I was glad to let out this frustration.

Deep down, I fear for these students. They have no idea what employers expect nowadays–especially with the big dreams they have for their futures. I have no idea how these students are going to make it in the “real” world. After all, working in teams and showing cooperation is all part of the corporate game.

So, I’ll give them their “practice test” tonight, the final on Monday and then wish them all well on Dec. 19th–our last day. They’re going to need it.

6 thoughts on “It’s Not Summer, But I Need a Vacation!

  1. Pingback: It’s Not Summer, But I Need a Vacation! | Author Mccloskey Speaks

Leave a Reply

