When a Funk Sets In

frustrated writerHave you ever had a time in your life when procrastination took over?

I’m in the midst of one of those times right now. It’s Dec. 11 and I still haven’t put up my Christmas tree. I’ve hauled out other decorations and spread them around the house, but I just haven’t been able to move myself to decorate the tree this year.

I told myself over the weekend, that the cold, rainy day would be perfect for getting the tree up, but I watched football games instead. After yesterday’s post, I’m sure that all of you are quite surprised by this news–seeing I made myself out to be “Mrs. Christmas Tree.”

Well, it’s not just the Christmas tree I’ve been putting off. It’s everything. I’ve failed to go to the grocery store, so the cupboards have little to offer. I still haven’t wrapped Christmas presents. Heck! I don’t even know if I have a gift for everyone. Sending out Christmas cards is completely out of the question. Even making a simple, good, meal has been a chore lately, and I LOVE to cook.

Worst yet, besides my blog, I haven’t written too much of anything for weeks. I have cranked out a short story for Sunday’s “Story Corner,” but that’s it. No work on the novel, nothing. I’ve been a slug. I hate it when I get this way.

Could all of this be a simple case of the holiday blues? I truly have nothing to be blue about. After all, last week our family rallied around us and gave us a beautiful wheelchair ramp for Ken. They also blessed us with a very generous Christmas present of cash so we’d have presents under the tree this year. I feel ashamed that I’m dragging my feet, but all I want to do is play Facebook games.

So, if you have any great ideas to help me “get off the dime,” so to speak, lay it on me. I could use a good kick in the pants.

6 thoughts on “When a Funk Sets In

  1. I’m blaming it on the planetary alignment. It’s supposed to be once in over 26000 years. I’m struggling more this year than ever to get festive and do anything. Just poured a brandy and it’s just 1:30 p.m. I think it’s 4:30 in New York so that makes it legal. I make plans to get certain things done and all I do is sit in front of the TV. Fast, loud music with lots of lights turned on can break it loose as well as company. Nothing moves me like company but I don’t have anyone to come by till Saturday when my son arrives. You’d think I’d get it in gear. Check out those planets.

    • It sounds like I am in good company. And you’re right–having guests always is an “upper.” Thanks for reminding me I can blame this on the planets, too.

  2. I get that way at times too… I sit on the couch and somehow can’t seem to get up even though I know I have so many things to do. Christmas cards are on the bottom of my list (maybe for New Years?) and I have presents to mail to Nevada and Virginia… maybe it is the cold weather, it gets in our bones and slows us down. It can’t be “old age” becasue we are not old! Just know you are in good company and pray for warm weather and sunshine 🙂

  3. For anybody else who is having trouble getting the “spirit” or anyone suffering from writer’s block this time of year, give Jasmine’s post a whirl. Good ideas!

Leave a Reply

