Thoughts About Reincarnation

Ernie the PugMy brain works in mysterious ways. It always has questions that need answering. I wonder about strange things. I ask myself a lot of  “what ifs”. You know,  like: “What if the world was really flat, what would happen when you fell off?” “What would happen if money really grew on trees?” “What would the world be like if people immediately refused to fight?”

This morning I woke thinking about reincarnation. After all, how many times have you heard someone say, “The next time, I’m coming back as a (fill in the blank)”?” My Aunt Dorthy always said the next time she was coming back she would be a little bird, so he could poop on everybody who had been mean to her. Watch out bullies!

So, I wondered what it be like if I could come back in my next life  as a dog. And not just any dog, it would have to be a pug dog.  After all, I’ve never met a pug owner who doesn’t think their dog is the cutest, smartest and most loving companion on the planet.

Think about this. When I opened my eyes this morning, my faithful pal Ernie was snuggled up against my side, snoring in a deep slumber amongst a thick fleece blanket. When he realized I was awake, he rolled over for me to give him his morning tummy rub. Then he stretched, got up on his feet and snuggled in for some more petting.

Now I know for all of you who don’t have pets who sleep with you, this is probably gross, but for those of you who understand this pet-human connection, you’re probably saying, “Awwww.”

Ernie has a great life. The hardest thing he has to do is go outside in the cold or rain to do “his business.” The other humiliating thing he has to do is eat cold, dry dog food from a bowl that’s on the floor. But for the rest of his day, he has soft chairs to snooze on, he’s stroked a good share of the day, and he is loved as much as any grandchild. He travels with me when I go away for more than a few hours, and he makes me proud by being a perfect dog when I go to friends’ homes. (Except for the time when he initiated my friend Heidi’s new house with a lifted leg. Then he was a BAD DOG! and was publicly scolded.)

But all in all, Ernie’s got a great life. He doesn’t have to worry about any creature comforts. He doesn’t have to worry about where his next meal is coming from. He doesn’t have to deal with telemarketers or creditors when the phone rings. Everyone who knows him, loves him. He naps when he wants. He gets treats everyday, and all he has to do is be his cute little self.

Yeah, It’s settled. The next time I come back, I’ll be a chubby, bright-eyed, happy, pampered pug to be doted upon for the rest of my days.

What will you be in your next life?

7 thoughts on “Thoughts About Reincarnation

  1. You make me smile. I too shared my bed with my dog. She had a great life and deserved it. I personally hope like heck I never have to do this again. I’m trying hard to learn my lessons so I can be done.:) Funny thing about perspective; we all see it differently.

Leave a Reply

