When Being “Good” is Enough

Rarely do I watch afternoon talk shows, but yesterday a singer I have long admired appeared on Katie Couric’s TV show.  Barbra Streisand made a rare public appearance, and I wanted to hear what she had to say. Her topic was about heart disease in women. Along with a woman doctor they discussed how the symptoms of heart attack are very different in women than in men. The point was also made that more women die from heart attack than from cancer. Good to know, but that’s not what I really want to discuss today with you.

As the discussion progressed, Barbra talked about a new song that she had written called, “Being Good Isn’t Good Enough.” I wish I had the lyrics to share, but I don’t. Sorry. But the comment struck me sideways.

“Good” is not a word I would use to describe Barbara. Fantastic. Awesome. Phenomenal. Unbelievable. Voice of an Angel. Now those are words I would use to describe this terrific singer, who I tried to emulate when I used to sing on stage. But nobody is as “good” as her.

I found it curious that a woman, who has achieved so much in her life — winning many Grammies, an Oscar and even a Tony award, would see herself only as “good.” And I don’t think this is a case of false pride. I truly think that she thinks shes only “good.”

In a way, her attitude freed me because I’ve always been good at something, not great. I strive and strive to be my best in everything I do, but I only achieve “good.” Perhaps it’s part of the artist soul, huh?

But knowing  Barbra Streisand feels that way, I’m going to relax and just continue to write my blogs, stories and my novels and I’m not going to worry about whether they will shake up the literary world. Or perhaps I’ll try writing a song entitled,  Being Good is Really Good Enough.

3 thoughts on “When Being “Good” is Enough

  1. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was
    super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m
    thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for newbie blog writers? I’d
    definitely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

