Pee is for Poetry

Today I’ve promised myself I’m going to work on my novel. Don’t get me wrong; I’ve been writing everyday, but I just haven’t gotten around to Stephania in a few days. (You remember my problematic character. Right?)

I’ve taken a detour into revising and honing several short stories for entry into contests. It’s been a fun journey to unearth a few unpublished works and polish them to a healthy shine. But now, I get a letter from my grant writer who wants me to take a whack at poetry. I’m admitting right now, I’ve never thought about myself as a poet. In fact, my self-assessment boils down to the fact that I think I’m too dumb to understand poetry, so how in the world am I ever going to write the stuff? But to make Miranda happy, I will attempt to rhyme and reason and hopefully come up with something worthy of submission.

And then it happened! Inspiration struck!  I woke this morning at 5:30 a.m. with a poem in my head, and like many of my characters, the poem nagged me to write it down! This is what I came up with:

My boy Ernie was a loyal pug,

Every morning he gave me hugs.

Until one day,

He was stolen away,

Now I’m crying for that wee lug.

What do you think? Is this a prize winner?

One thought on “Pee is for Poetry

  1. Barbara, don’t you just love it when inspiration strikes and nags you! I do. This morning as I was waiting for my computer to boot up, I was sitting at my desk with a blank piece of paper in front of me. I had no intention of writing anything at that moment, and was thinking about a blog I had spent two hours reading the night before. The blog really touched me, written by a very young man on the move. Within a few minutes, I wrote “Grace” effortlessly, an acknowledgement of God in my life.

    I am sorry I cannot really comment on your poem. But if it fits the requirements, why not submit it?
    ~Mary

Leave a Reply

