Never a Politician

“Politics is the art of looking for trouble, finding it everywhere, diagnosing it incorrectly, and applying the wrong remedies.” —Groucho Marx

I’m about at the end of my rope with the political commercials that have been appearing on my television set FOREVER . With Wisconsin being a “swing” state, we have gotten a double dose. In my opinion, these messages are just a waste of money that could be put to better use, like feeding the hungry or providing flu shots for seniors, instead of subjecting me  a to a convoluted bunch of twisted messages designed to sway people who actually believe such such nonsense.

You can probably tell that I don’t have the savvy or the” swarthiness” to run for dog catcher.

As I see it, there’s two basic flaws why I wouldn’t be a good politician: First, I tell the truth. I remember one of my bosses saying to me one time, “Don’t sugar coat it, Barb, tell me what you really think.”  Another boss told me I was too “nice” to ever make it  in business. What they were really telling me was I would never be successful in business because I was a good person. What’s wrong with that picture?

Furthermore, it really irritates me when news commentators look at the Presidential debates as some kind of sporting event where there is a “winner” and a “loser.” Which brings me to the second reason why I wouldn’t be a good politician. I don’t like to argue. If I would have to be part of a debate, it would be a disaster. I would probably stand on the podium, look my opponent in the eye and say something like:  “Your ideas are full of fluff. Your policies are built on jello. And you’re ugly.” Then I would sit down, cross my arms and not say another word.  (Of course, you all know I’m kidding. Right?)

Unlike many politicians, I’ve changed from that  little girl of six who told her mother: “I don’t want to play with the other kids because they don’t want to play MY way!”  You see, through the years, I’ve learned how to compromise and listen to other people’s opinions. I’ve learned how to have empathy for situations that are different from mine. I’ve learned how to get along on a lot less money because I had to. I’ve learned how to work with others to get something DONE.  I’ve even learned how to solve problems without picking up a gun.

Yeah, I would make a rotten politician. I think I’ll stick to writing.

Leave a Reply

