Curiosity is a Driving Force–Passengers Beware!

Every once in a while, my curiosity drives me nuts. Today was one of those days. I woke up with this curious drive to learn where the term “BLOG” originated.

Seeing it isn’t “cool” to just grab the dictionary any more, I warmed up my laptop, called up GOOGLE and summoned my request. Like an archaeologist, I dug around until I found what I wanted. I discovered web journals have been around since the 1990s and the term BLOG didn’t show up until 1999 when it was coined by Peter Merholz–a graduate from the University of California – Berkley. Supposedly, he was making a joke about the technology and put together the two words web and log = blog. Of course, I found this information on the Internet so it must be true, right?

Okay, I had my answer. But for a curiosity junkie like me, it wasn’t enough. Along with the where and when, I discovered a whole new language built around web journaling. Eureka!  Want to know what I found? Come exploring with me! (Otherwise, you may be dismissed.)

First, let us begin with the terms for specific types  of  blogs. With 100 million blogs in the Blogosphere there has to be some kind of organization, right?

  • ANONOBLOG is one written by an author who wants to remain anonymous.
  • An AUDIOBLOG is where you’d find posts of recordings.
  • A BIZ BLOG is a blog operated by a business.
  • A BLAWG is written by a law professor, student or law review.
  • (I’m sure there are many other categories, but let’s move on.)

With 100 million blog sites, there are equally as many bloggers. Here’s some terms for some of them.

  • A BLEGO is the self-worth of the blogger. (blog + ego); at first glance that one had me stumped, too.
  • Then there’s the ever popular BLOGEBRITY.
  • A BLOGSNOB who is a blogger unwilling to acknowledge comments from anyone outside their blog clique. There’s the BLOOGER who is an immature or boorish blogger acting like a teenager.

Again the disclaimer is in place –this is by no means an all-inclusive list; it only contains words I thought were hilarious.

I was concerned when I learned that a blogger can even be inflected by BLOG diseases. Here are a few:

  • BLOGSTIPATION, which is a fatal diagnosis of one being unable to think of something to post.
  • BLOGORHHEA when a blogger writes an unedited stream of consciousness.
  • BLOGOHOLIC who is addicted to writing so much that she/he destroys the rest of their life. (I wonder if they have a 12 Step program?)

That brings us to the BLAUDIENCE –people like you who read blogs. There’s the BLURKER who sneaks in, reads and leaves no trace of their visits behind, and  the BLOGROACH who is an obnoxious commentator who disagrees with rude comments on everything posted.

I could go on, but if I haven’t lost you yet, I will soon, and I would never want to do that. It’s my goal to entertain, inform, and once in a while give you something you can use for conversation around the water cooler.

So, carry on BLAUDIENCE!  Your day awaits you.

Leave a Reply

