Why Skip “Skype”?

The truest characters of ignorance are vanity and pride and arrogance. –Samuel Butler

A week ago,  I stuck my toe in yet another puddle of Internet technology and answered my first Skype call. I talked with a friend who moved to Florida many years ago, and to this day, I wished she would have stayed here with me. Selfish? You bet. But I digress.

With a click of my mouse I accepted her call and voila! There she was smiling at me!   It was like we were sitting across the table from each other giggling like a couple of old buddies just like we used to do before she moved. What a dope I’ve been to shy away from this wonderful tool that can bring her in the flesh to me–everyday. Only God knows why I feared trying Skype because our conversation was so much fun.

Ah, but I just told a lie. I dragged my feet to use Skype because I didn’t want my friends to see me with uncombed hair and bags under my eyes–which is so often the case in the morning. I didn’t want them to read in my face what my words could hide.

I’m sure some of you remember the cartoon called “The Jetson’s”?  If not, let me refresh your memory. This series was an animated story about a space-age family. Every week we’d see them use technologies that were yet to be invented, and one of them was a video telephone. Whenever the “phone” rang before Jane had a chance to put on her make-up and get ready for the day, she had a mask that she wore to face the caller. I always thought that was funny–until Skype came along.

But something surprising happened when I gave Skype a chance. Seeing my friend overcame my vanity. I threw away the desire to be 20 lbs. lighter and to hide my middle-age double chin. Sure I wished I looked better, but our conversation overcame my desire to have a perfect face to present to the world. I don’t need one. She’s my friend.

Leave a Reply

