Monday, Monday–Can’t Stand That Day!

It’s Monday again; a day when most of us start our work week. A day when we drag ourselves out of our glorious weekends and get back to the “real world.” So after taking Sunday off, watching football games from noon until ten thirty at night, I’m going to try to get back in the groove of my life after my first cup of Monday morning coffee.

I think it’s appropriate to speak about procrastination today. All week, I’ve put off cutting my grass. I’m sure my neighbors wish I would move and someone who loves to cut the lawn would move in. I have also been putting off getting the oil changed in my car, and since Wednesday, I’ve had a pile of papers to grade for my writing class. There were two assignments — one to write ten sentences and identify the parts of speech, and two–write a paragraph about a reading they were assigned. I’m not looking forward to opening my briefcase and settling in with my red pen. I guess it’s because I already know what I’ll be reading. And most of it “ain’t pretty.”

I never used to be a procrastinator, in fact, I was the person who always put the hardest task first. I know after I got the hard one done, it was down hill from there. I don’t know when I caught the procrastination bug. But I’m suffering from it nonetheless. It must be I’ve reached the age when I realize that most of what I have to do isn’t really that important. But was it ever? Probably not. I guess I’m also old enough to know that there’s always a negative to a positive.  A good balanced by the ugly? The fun canceled out by the mundane? A high followed by a low?

Facing Monday is so darn difficult. I know settling into my routine will bring more of the same. Maybe that’s why I postpone the inevitable as long as possible. Only deadlines defeat procrastination and keep me moving.

So for all my Monday mourning friends, I am right there with you. I’ll pour another cup of coffee and get the papers graded and posted by this afternoon.  I’ll aslo write a couple more chapters in my latest novel.

What are your plans?

One thought on “Monday, Monday–Can’t Stand That Day!

Leave a Reply

