Is There a Place For Strong Women?

A woman is like a tea bag – you can’t tell how strong she is until you put her in hot water.

Eleanor Roosevelt

When I came across this quote last night, I thought it was perfect to sum up the main characters in my books. I admire women who can think their way out of difficult situations and have the ability to stand on their own two feet. But heaven forbid she be good looking, highly intelligent, and maybe even wealthy. If she has all three characteristics, for sure she has to be a conniving bitch. Right? Why are such women so threatening? Why aren’t good, strong women allowed to have all three categories and still be interesting?

I’ll admit my  “foxy” good-looking days are now in the rear-view mirror, but there’s a part of me that is very happy about that. No longer do I have to hide my intelligence to capture a man. No longer am I arm candy for someone who needs such a thing to make himself feel better because he lacks self-confidence. Gone are the days I have to keep my opinions to myself. If that makes me a bitch in the eyes of society, so be it.  I’m sure I’ll be in good company with the “bitches” who have come before me, including Ms. Roosevelt, Susan B. Anthony, Norma Ray and the rest of the out-spoken gang.

Women not only nurture the world, they make it stronger. Strong women should be honored, not labeled with slurs. I think it’s sad that so much energy is put into keeping women in “their place” around the world. I think it’s sad that so many male American politicians think it’s their right to dictate what a woman can do with her own body. Do they think that we’re just too stupid to take care of ourselves? Come on!

It’s too bad so many men are threatened by a strong woman. I’m sure if males were more in control of themselves they would be far too busy fixing important problems. Here’s one they could work on: find a way to make men who father children, support those children. Here’s another one: Find a way to  prosecute men who beat their wives and children. Here’s another one: Find away to take starving people off American streets. And men, when you solve those problems, we can move to the more difficult ones–Like understanding that war never solves anything! I guess it’s easier to rattle the sword, than speak gently.

So there it is folks, today’s blog has become an electronic soapbox. I’m not sorry if you don’t agree. I look at it this way, if a ” tweet” can start an political uprising across the world, perhaps a blog will open a few eyes and let strong women go on without calling them disparaging names.

2 thoughts on “Is There a Place For Strong Women?

Leave a Reply

