Change is Change, It’s All About Accepting It

Today is September 10th — the first day of a new semester. And, even though I’m teaching the same Pre-Tech Writing class, many things have changed for me. It seems my life is a constant source of never-ending change. Do you have that problem, too?

This will be my first experience teaching a night class from 6 to 8 p.m.  on Mondays and Wednesday, which happens to fall in the heart of some of my favorite television programs. I guess that’s why we have DVRs!  I’m also hoping that this class won’t be weary because I know most of the students will be coming after they’ve worked a full day. Staring at a classroom full of tired zombies is not fun.  Perhaps I should bring a thermos of coffee?

Second, I’m on a different campus. This campus is closer to my home, so I’m happy for that, but I’m always a little leery when I have to deal with different surroundings. (I have this phobia of getting lost in a place and not being able to find the exit.) On the other hand, I understand from a teaching friend this room is terrific because every student will have his or her own computer. Ah, no more having to read poor handwriting when I assign in-class writing  projects. Another change is I will be using a computer software called Blackboard to interface with students on a very basic level.

I’m optimistic that I’ll have a wonderful experience, but classes can be a lot like children–everyone is different, and they don’t always do what I want them to do. They have their own personalities. They thrill and disappoint. They frustrate and excite. Sometimes they’re there and sometimes they’re not.

So, as I sit here and write their names in my attendance roster, I wonder what each student will be like. I’ll get through my challenges, but part of me wants them to be just as anxious as I am.

One thought on “Change is Change, It’s All About Accepting It

  1. Gosh, this reminds me of my past life as an academic and teacher. How well I remember the trepidation of each new semester! Good luck… and remember, a little bit of fear and/or nervousness is a good thing, because it shows you still care. But you don’t need to be too nervous, because I’m sure you’ll be great.

Leave a Reply

