The Final Test

Today I feel sad because I created the Final Exam for my writing class. When my students take this test on Wednesday, it will be the last day I will have the privilege to teach them. Through our sixteen weeks together, I’ve grown to love each and every one of them. They’ve worked hard, done the course work, and now I must send them on their way.

Taking an introductory class like Pre-Technical Writing is difficult. I know everyone in the class is starting over for one reason or another, and just for them to sit in class to learn the basics is to be admired. I hope I’ve not only taught them grammar, spelling and sentence structure; I hope I’ve given them enough support so they go believing in themselves–that they can accomplish what they’ve set out to do.  If they believe in themselves, the sky’s the limit.

I have enjoyed teaching this class. Through discussions about the readings the students have been assigned, they got comfortable voicing their opinions and learning to listen to others’ opinions. They’ve opened up about personal experiences and revealed bits of themselves.  Because classmates and teacher were willing to share personal experiences, we built trust with each other. When this happens, it’s so exciting ! Why? Because in order to be a good writer, you have to make yourself vulnerable, and they were willing to do that. And, I saw so much progress.

The message for today is to be true to yourself and your readers. Writing the truth about what you know is an important ingredient in good writing. And for my students, know  this one important fact–you’ll never have to worry about a final test again — you’ve already passed.

Leave a Reply

