“They” say you are interested in “creative” types . . .

Today marks the birth of my new blog as the author of the “Apple Pie and Strudel Girls” series of book. For my first post, I thought I’d talk about being a “creative” type–if there is really such a thing.

When somebody call me “a creative,”  it struck me strange, probably because  I have never fashioned myself as an artist. But two years of unemployment as caused the right side of my brain to engage. First it was making handmade jewelry, then it was painting and then it was writing novels. I kept surprising myself everyday with all of this “stuff” kept pouring out of me. Was it because I had kept these creative urges bottled up for the past 20 years? Who knows? All I can say is, every time I turned around my hands were producing something tangible that look artsy.

Then one day a friend of mine told me a great story about something very strange that happened to her. Right away I saw the potential of developing her experiences into a book. She said she had tried to write the story, but didn’t have the words to tell it. I told her I would take a “whack” at it, and within two  months, I had written my first novel called “Mercyless Memorial Hospital.” The story followed an unsuspecting nurse through the unknown world of witchcraft in a Texas hospital. I found myself fictionalizing the story with colorful characters and best of all, I loved researching a place I had never visited. I was happy with the first attempt at writing, but I was not happy when my “friend” put her name on the cover.

So I thought, if I can write one book, I can write another one, but this time, MY NAME would appear on the cover. As I “noodled” about my book,  it hit me. I needed to write historical fiction. I needed to combine passion for history and researching facts to provide a background for the fictional characters who had been begging me for weeks to write them down. These characters were “friends” of many older people who had crossed my life and shared their experiences of their teenage years. Most of them grew up during World War II and I owed it to them to write their stories.

So, I set my computer on my lap and with my trusting, loving little Ernie pug beside me, “Apple Pie and Strudel Girls” was born.

Come back again tomorrow and I’ll impart a few more words of wisdom (I use that word very loosely) about being a “creative.”

Leave a Reply

