Preparing for Spring

The winter this year has been abominable for most of the country. Last year, we knew we were pretty lucky because we enjoyed temps of 60′s and 70′s in April.backyard 005

Here it is May and we’ve enjoyed exactly two days of temps in the low 60′s. A couple of daffodils have been brave enough to bloom. Now is the time brave Wisconsinites put on hoodies, tune-up lawn mowers, clear the yard of old leaves, pull out the patio furniture, and keep fingers crossed it will not snow again until next December.

As far as weather is concerned, I’m skeptical. I haven’t done any of the above–with the exception of putting on a hoodie. I don’t want to plant my fragile posies only to have them frozen by a deep freeze as I slumber under two blankets and a comforter.

I do figure at some point Mother Nature will give in and bless us with temperatures that don’t require outerwear. So, yesterday I took a big step. I went to the garden store and bought dirt. Yup. Three bags of high-power Miracle Grow Potting Soil. You see two of them, as Ernie photo-bombed the picture. The colorful bag with big, bright blooms was only two bucks a bag, and I figured when I do finally get to planting flowers, the poor little plants will stand a good chance to produce a summer of healthy blooms.
backyard 003

I also bought the two new large green pots to replace the winter weather beaten pots which have were destroyed by the colder than usual temps. These pots look like they have suffered through a war of the worlds.

backyard 004

So, when Mother Nature decides to grant us “normal” weather, with sunshine and temperatures that hover in the 70′s, I’ll put on my gardening gloves and go to town.

I’ll send pictures.

5 thoughts on “Preparing for Spring

  1. Ah, the tease of Mother Nature. We had 3 days of weather above 80-88. Yes, we thought we were going to melt, then back to the low 40′s and 50′s, wind and rain. Brrr. I’m never going to complain again. Mother Nature seems to sneer at me and say “try this on for size”. She just keeps us completely on our toes. I’ve seen many years that went from winter to summer. We had snow one year on Memorial day. My husband was in California enjoying the drag races while I dealt with the canopy collapsing from the weight of the snow. Who would have guessed the 70′s could give way to. snow. Grrrump! Hang in there

Leave a Reply

