A New Day, A New Year

new yearAs we turned the calendar from the last day of 2013 to the first day of 2014, most people look at the new year as a clean slate–a time to start anew. Optimism outweighs pessimism. Joy outweighs sorrow. The ball dropped in New York. Let’s get on with it. Right?

The truth is for most of us, things change very little. The resolutions fall by the wayside in a couple of weeks, and our lives go back to “normal.” Yet, every December 31st we are all hopeful for bigger and better things. Why? Is the unknown that appealing as we look forward? Or do we look to the new year for an escape from what is too familiar? Who knows for sure?

I do know one thing, though, on the television program, “Let’s Make a Deal” contestants usually take the unknown value in lieu of what is a sure thing. The unknown for some reason is more appealing to them.

I’m the first person to get in line to try something new, but through the years I’ve become more cautious. All of my positions in the corporate world for twenty years were new ones. I blazed a trail and didn’t have to run on a worn track. I loved the challenge that the new positions gave me.

Three years ago, I took a teaching job when I never planned to teach anything and found out I enjoyed it . . . for awhile. When I discovered after three years, so many of my students didn’t have curiosity to learn and challenge themselves, I fell out of love with teaching.

This year I plan to devote myself to writing. It’s the one thing I have always come back to when other professions have beat me up. Because I deviated into teaching, I lost my zest for communing with my computer for hours and fumbled the ball. I didn’t blog everyday as I intended. I convinced myself I had writer’s block, when in fact, I got lazy and played mindless computer games for hours.

But it’s a New Year. My resolution is to get back to basics and finish my next novel. I am committed. As I watch commuter gridlock on the television news, I am thankful I don’t have to fight the winter elements to complete my tasks. I can sit on my new recliner and go to work with my little Ernie dog keeping me company in my chosen solitary profession. Life is so good.

What have you promised yourself for 2014?

2 thoughts on “A New Day, A New Year

  1. Great article Barb. Good luck blazing your own new trail in 2014. For me … My resolution is take what the trail gives me and make the best of it. I will work on being the kind of person/ mother/ employer / friend I need to be and then achievement / growth will naturally come from that.. Be, then do, then receive. Love to you and Ken

Leave a Reply

